Be your own wonderful eccentric self

I was watching a video by Mr Repzion a while back about a boy who was asked to stop using his My Little Pony back pack as it is a trigger for bullying. The story resonated quite strongly with me as I think it possibly will for a lot of other people. Growing up as a geek/introvert I’ve often been made to feel like I have to be less like myself to get along with people. I have incredibly strong and passionate interests; my closest friends say that my enthusiasm motivates them but outside of my social circle I’ve regularly been made to feel like there is something wrong with me. (I also worry that nowadays young people are more likely to jump to conclusions about their own mental health simply because they do not fit in with the strict idea of what’s normal.) As I grew up I later developed an interest in the Goth scene; as you can imagine this has also made me a target at times. Upon leaving the house I have been warned that I may get bullied if I don’t change my clothes (admittedly I was wearing a pirate hat at the time; but the whole pirate look really suits me.)

I understand that it is important to remain safe and it makes a lot of sense to blend in so that we don’t become a target. However, I don’t like the idea that we should all bow down to the bullies and shape ourselves in the way that they see fit. I don’t really understood why my choice of clothing or interests should have a negative impact of anybody else’s life. I also wouldn’t want everybody to be like me; variety is a good thing because then we all have something different and valuable to offer to the world. Most of the people that I admire are the ones that have had the confidence to be themselves and dared to go against the grain (Aurelio Voltaire for example – the inspiration behind my pirate fashion.) I enjoy being in the company of others who are really passionate about something even on the verge of obsessive because of the sheer joy that can emanate when conversing about the things we love; who cares if it’s not classed as normal behaviour – some of the greatest minds in history weren’t exactly considered normal either (Einstein for instance).

Be your own wonderful eccentric self, whatever that may be!!!

Tags: , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

Leave a Reply

