Studio Ghibli: The Wind Rises

Planes and airships often make regular appearances throughout Ghibli films; in fact the studio is named after an aeroplane. The new film by Studio Ghibli ‘The Wind Rises’ is all about planes as it follows the life of a man who has always dreamt of being an aeronautical designer. Living throughout a number of different historical events the main character grows into an accomplished engineer. Many of his tasks involve having to design planes that can push Japanese technology forward and help them during the war, although his main goal always seems to be the desire to simply build beautiful creations. A touching love story also unfolds towards the end of the film.

‘The Wind Rises,’ is the first time I’ve ever managed to catch a Ghibli film at the cinema as they tend to only have a few showings at a select number of places. (I was disappointed to have missed the last film ‘From Up On Poppy Hill’ so it is definitely important to keep an eye out for them.) As usual the film had an interesting story and excellent animation. I do tend to prefer the films directed by Hayao Miyazaki, with ‘Nausicaa’, ‘Howl’s Moving Castle’ and ‘My Neighbour Totoro’ being amongst my favourites. ‘The Wind Rises,’ is actually quite different to some of his previous films as it feels a lot more serious. I have to admit that I do prefer the more fantastical films and would like to see a return to such, but I still really enjoyed ‘The Wind Rises’ regardless. The film feels like it has had a lot of love poured into its creation and is full of detail. I’m now waiting excitedly to be able to add what will be the 20th film to my Studio Ghibli collection. :p

Studio Ghibli

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

3 responses to “Studio Ghibli: The Wind Rises”

  1. Thao Nguyen says :

    Hi! I really enjoy Miyazaki’s movies too. I’ve been trying to find where I could get the dvd’s, but I can’t find them. Can you please tell me where you got your collection?

    • wallcat says :

      Hi. My boyfriend got them all for me as a birthday present but I think he bought them all off of Amazon. I’ve also seen that The Wind Rises is now available to buy and saw it for sale in the DVD section of the supermarket.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Celebrate The Small Things: 16 May | My Inner Geek - May 16, 2014

Leave a Reply

