Recommended Book – Drawing Basics and Video Game Art

feet studyIt’s my dream to be able to one day learn how to create my own characters and draw fantasy art. I can happily draw what I see, but making things up that look right is another challenge altogether. Fortunately I found the book ‘Drawing Basics and Video Game Art‘ which I feel has improved my drawing skills quite a lot. I still need a lot more practice to be able to create my own fantasy art, but it’s a step up from where I was.

‘Video Game Art’ may look like a book that is just geared towards people who are interested in video games, but I reckon that anyone could learn useful drawing skills from it (especially if you’re interested in drawing people.) Out of the many drawing books I own it is definitively one of my favourites, the reason being that the book covers classical art and techniques. I was never a big fan of the art classes I took at college because they didn’t seem to teach you any techniques or encourage life drawing. Many people who attended the class didn’t understand things like colour, composition, lighting, shape… etc… We were always encouraged to go down the route of modern art, which is fine if you’re interested in this area, but these classes aren’t an ideal solution for all of us.

I own many other books about drawing people, but they are either too simple or too complicated. For example I always knew that understanding anatomy could help, but the books I bought covering the topic include complicated diagrams of skeletons and muscle groups with all the labels; I wasn’t sure how to utilize this knowledge correctly. On the other side of the scale you may get a book that shows you the basic shapes that make up the form, but not enough knowledge on how to make the figure look believable. ‘Video Game Art’ is in the middle ground in that it includes anatomy but also helps to guide you on where to look, such as skeletal landmarks that can be seen on the surface and how gravity effects the weight of a figure.

The book includes a number of tasks, images of classical art and examples from video games. The text is also really easy to read and the ideas well explained. I recommend this book for anybody who wants to improve their drawing skills, whether you are a beginner or intermediate.

arrow

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

6 responses to “Recommended Book – Drawing Basics and Video Game Art”

  1. anntogether.com says :

    Excellent studies – you’re off to a tremendous start – I hope someday when I have time (and extra money of course) to enroll in another figure drawing class – those are fantastically helpful and confidence boosters when drawing anatomy-
    AnnMarie

    • wallcat says :

      Thank you. I’ve never actually attended a live drawing class but I’ve always wanted to because I think it’d be a really valuable experience. Working from photos can only take you so far.

      • anntogether.com says :

        I you can – you should at some point – you usually begin with very short-timed poses, these gradually increase to perhaps an hour – but you begin with 2 and 3 minute poses…
        It’s a great experience
        AnnMarie

  2. Katie thecyborgmom says :

    My son likes to draw and I think he’s got some talent. Problem is that he’s 10 and doesn’t want to sit through art classes. I checked out the amazon link and it looks like a good one. I may have to wait a few years for this book because of all the “naked” drawings…he thinks kissing is gross, so the nude drawings may be a put off LOL Good luck with your creations!
    ~Katie

    • wallcat says :

      I was lucky in that a few people in my family enjoy art and so I was always encouraged to draw and paint from a young age. (Depending on his skill level)There are many simpler step by step books you can try. I started out with books like I Can Draw, Draw Rain Forest Animals and Draw Ocean Animals. If he’s a bit more advanced than that then you could try books like Drawing & Painting Fantasy Figures – From the Imagination to The Past and 100 ways to create Fantasy Figures (I don’t think these types of books tend to have nudity in them :P.) It also depends on what he’s interested in because you can get books that are about specific things (as you may have noticed I have a preference for animals and people.) Drawing is a really fun hobby to have, but you don’t have to go to classes or anything to be good at it. Just practice a lot and have fun :D.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Little Painting Challenge | My Inner Geek - March 30, 2015

Leave a Reply

