Starting The Lord Of The Rings Online

The Lord Of The Rings Online

I’ve been in the mood for an MMORPG for a while now, but I’ve been struggling to decide which one to play. While I’ve been hearing a lot of great things about Wildstar it’s a bit on the expensive side for me at the moment (my boyfriend has been offered a guest pass and I’m hoping to get a sneak peak.) I love that new rpg feel though: getting to know a new character for the first time, levelling up more quickly, making choices on my builds… etc… In a lot of my MMORPGs I’ve already made a lot of progress, Guild Wars 1 & 2, The Secret World, Final Fantasy XIV, Star Wars The Old Republic and Tibia. All have pros and cons. I’ve spent a little bit of time on The Secret World this week as it’s on a double AP event at the moment, but I’ve always preferred to play that game with a friend so it depends on whether people are available or not.

Then I remembered, I have a Lord Of The Rings Online account that I still haven’t really used yet. I tried to play the game over Christmas around the time the second Hobbit film came out but I just couldn’t get into it; I’d only just stopped playing The Old Republic and I don’t think I was ready to move onto another one yet. While it is a decent game it also doesn’t seem to stand out so well amongst the other options.

I started a new human character and have made it through the tutorial and training area. I’m definitely enjoying it a lot more this time around and I’m keen to carry on. I like my character a lot, which I find can make a huge difference on my level of engagement. She’s a hunter and I’ve tried to make her quite lithe. I use to always go for the classes that used swords, but since practising a bit of longbow archery in real life I’ve really taken to the bow as a weapon choice. She’s also using a sword and dagger though so it’s all win win. I’m now making my way from the start location Archet, which was attacked, and completing a few quests along the way. Currently positioned in Combe.

I’m also downloading Rift at the moment in case I fancy trying out another option. I’ve never actually considered this game before but I’ve heard good things.

Tags: , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When Iā€™m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

2 responses to “Starting The Lord Of The Rings Online”

  1. Caffe Maggieato says :

    There’s an “Online Gaming” course over in Coursera starting soon and I think part of the course is that we’re supposed to play LOTR Online. Thought you might be interested to know. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

