My First Time At A Comic Con

I’d always wanted to go to a Comic Con but the opportunity only arose recently. I didn’t know what to expect, but was really hoping to find something relating to my own interests. I decided to limit the contents of my purse just in case; didn’t want to get carried away after all.

You can spend much of your life feeling like you’re one of a few just to be amazed by the droves of like-minded people that suddenly emerge during such occasions. Some were dressed up in geeky t-shirts, others wore Goth apparel, pirates, Manga characters and one or two furries as well; fluffy tails bobbing from their rumps and feathered ears protruding from their heads. I gazed down at my own Mass Effect t-shirt and – not for the first time – felt a little under dressed for the festival I was about to attend.

As I entered the large room I was a slightly overwhelmed by the sheer number of stalls lined up in the centre like a car boot sale with the overarching theme of geek; where to even start. It was hot and crowded too. I decided to throw myself in to be swept up in the flow of people. There were stacks of merchandise crammed onto every stall and I peaked around wildly hoping not to miss anything. Some featured displays of cards; their colourful and shiny surfaces drawing my magpie like attention. I was particularly interested in sifting through the Pokemon collections and was half tempted by a Mew Ex. I didn’t want to rush into purchasing anything though until after I’d finished perusing everything that was on offer.

I continued to pass stall after stall. A few housed boxes brimming with Manga and Comics but I didn’t even know where to start looking with these. Others sold models from various sci-fi franchises such as Star Trek, Star Wars and Dr Who. Comical t-shirts, plushies, jewellery, old DVDs and boardgames were all available to purchase too. I looked on in wonderment at some of the available art work and spotted one person skillfully drawing portraits in the middle of the hustle and bustle. Towards the back I was excited to see Steampunk and Goth clothes intermingled with glass cases containing various weaponry; my jubilant expression reflected in those shiny blades. As usual I felt most at home by the stalls that sold video games and with a knowing eye I flicked through the cases hoping to chance upon a forgotten treasure; filling with nostalgia as I reached the old PS1 classics.

As time went on the floor began to quieten and I was able to parole around the merchandise once more to make sure I hadn’t missed anything. I wanted to bring home at least one artefact from the trip to Comic Con, but there were so many gems on offer my mind was unable to settle upon any one decision. Eventually my boyfriend decided for me and together we bought a Manga box set of Ouran High School Host Club – one of my favourite anime shows. Feeling spent up I trundled home carrying my heavy trove like a dragon returning back to replenish it’s own horde of gold.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

10 responses to “My First Time At A Comic Con”

  1. j3w3l says :

    I’ve been to a few of these types of conventions in Bris but they come no where near that of comic con… kinda jealous

    • wallcat says :

      To be honest there are probably much bigger and better ones than the event that I went to, but then I don’t have any similar experiences to compare to. Well I did attend a game one once but it was disappointing and nothing like. I always use to be jealous of others that got to attend conventions as not many happen where I live and I don’t have the money to travel far.

  2. Kevin McLeod says :

    I went to my first comic con in Glasgow today. Really enjoyed it although I also went to my first collector mania last month and enjoyed that more.

Leave a Reply

