Books That Have Stayed With Me

So I read on the new blog ‘Planet Pasduil‘ that people are currently making lists of the top ten books that have stayed with them in some way. I’ve been re-visiting a few books recently and I fancied compiling them into my own list:

  • The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien – To be honest, when I was younger I found The Lord of The Rings to be a bit too much of a struggle to read, so The Hobbit was sort of like my first introduction to the world of Tolkien. I just really enjoy fantasy and love dragons.
  • Inheritance Cycle (Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr, Inheritance) by Christopher Paolini – This is probably one of my favourite fantasy series. While it’s classed as a teenage book some aspects of it feel really dark and you could see the author’s skills and viewpoint growing alongside the main character. It also panders to my love of dragons.
  • The Picture Of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde – I went through a phase where I wanted to try a few more classical books. I struggled to understand the language in many of them, but The Picture Of Dorian Gray was one that I not only managed to complete but also really enjoyed.
  • White Fang by Jack London – I read this book quite a while ago, but I’m planning to read through it again next. It appeals more to my love of animals than anything else and I love that it’s from a dogs perspective.
  • Mass Effect (Ascension, Retribution, Revelation) by Drew Karpyshyn – I just think Drew Karpyshyn is a really good author and the series tied in really well with the game. I loved how the final book explored what it was like to become indoctrinated from the perspective of that character. It was kind of disturbing in a way.
  • Harry Potter by J.K.Rowling – Lots of people grew up with Harry Potter. It’s just a really fun magical read.
  • Age of The Five (Priestess of the White, Voice of the Gods and Last of the Wilds) by Trudi Canavan – This series had some really interesting characters in it and a pretty good twist at the end. I think I prefer it to The Black Magician Trilogy myself, although Trudi Canavan books are all generally quite good.
  • Deathscent by Robin Jarvis – I read this a long time ago and for some reason I always remembered it. I think it was the first time I’d experienced anything that felt a bit steampunk in style and it fascinated me. All of the animals in the world are mechanical and the residents can bring any creation to life by using different coloured ichors. The annoying thing is that while the back of the book claims to be the first in a series, no more ever came.
  • Angels and Demons by Dan Brown – I have to admit that even though I have every Dan Brown book on my Kindle I’ve only read Angels and Demons and The Da Vinci Code. I didn’t know which one to list because I enjoyed them both a lot. I found the subject material interesting and I like books where I feel like I can also learn something at the same time (of course it’s important to note that a lot of it is also made up.)
  • Empress Orchid by Anchee Min – I recently read through this book again, followed by The Last Empress. I seem to be fascinated by the lives of people living in China or Japan around certain times. To be honest I found it a bit too dry in places when covering politics or the war, but I really enjoyed reading about The Forbidden City.

There are many others that I grew up with, but I haven’t added them to the list. For example, I’d say that every Roald Dahl book has had a significant impact on many lives. I also read a lot of horror books when I was a kid like Goosebumps and Shivers. There was also the Animal Ark series which I think helped to start my love of animals. I mostly read fantasy books but I didn’t want to the entire list to comprise of just one genre. I’m also reading the odd short story by H.P. Lovecraft and there are some pretty interesting ones like ‘The Thing on the Doorstep’ and ‘The Colour Out of Space.’ I also read a lot of non-fiction books like Reality is Broken by Jane McGonigal, Theory of Fun by Raph Koster and Quiet by Susan Cain.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

5 responses to “Books That Have Stayed With Me”

  1. Pasduil says :

    I also loved Dorian Gray, White Fang and Harry Potter!

    And Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, from when I was ten or so. 🙂

    I’m a bit dragon-ed out right now, but I might look into your other picks in the future as I’ve not read most of them.

    • wallcat says :

      I was as enthusiastic about reading Harry Potter as most people were around my age, although I don’t always like placing it too highly on my list because I think many people overlook other fantasy series that are just as good, or just other books in general. I remember we had a copy of White Fang just lying around that nobody had read and one day I had nothing better to do so I just picked it up. I was surprised at how good it was. This time I’m hoping to read through White Fang and Call of The Wild as well.

      Admitedly Dragons probably are a bit overused, but they seemed to capture my imagination from a young age and before I knew it I had dragon ornaments all over my room. Lol.

      It’s great to see people discussing what books they loved. I don’t know many people that like reading. To be honest I don’t read enough myself.

      • Pasduil says :

        In the last year or so I’ve read two big book cycles that dragons appear in, so I’m about ready for some non-dragon material at this point. 🙂

        Robin Hobb’s Farseer Trilogy and Liveship Traders Trilogy, and the five Game of Thrones books.

        > I don’t read enough myself.

        Who does? 😀

      • wallcat says :

        oh yeah. I own the Farseer trilogy on my kindle. My boyfriend read it and said it was really good, but once again I haven’t gotten around to it. lol. Our kindles are connected to the same account and he buys lots of books so I always have too much choice when deciding what to read next. I know what you mean, I love fantasy epics, but even then I sometimes like to read something else just to give me a bit more variety.

        I love reading, but it’s so hard finding the time. When I was younger I went to the library and read a book a week, now I really have to make the effort to fit them into my life.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Books Meme – A Compilation | Planet Pasduil - September 14, 2014

Leave a Reply

