Finding Love Through Gaming #bloggyxmas

pokemonxmas

There are many different types of people that make up the gaming community. I’ve met some very opinionated ones that are always up for a bit of banter, others that use games as a basis for deep discussion and then there are those that just want to form connections and share experiences. I’ve had massive arguments over silly things like skill sets and also had the pleasure of participating in parties that have worked like well oiled machines. Alliances have been forged and enemies have been made. The one thing that I’ve always found to be consistent is that we gamers are a very interesting, passionate bunch of people. We can be meticulous in the way that we analyse strategies and systems, outspoken when it comes to our preferences and we’re always up for a rally if our community calls for it. Sometimes we’ll even take those cares out with us into the real world, wanting to make it a better place.

I’ve spent entire nights enthralled in conversation and yet sat idly by with sword in sheath and arrows in quiver; Sometimes with friends, but other times with helpful strangers passing by. I may have never seen those avatars again, but I’ll never forget the amazing conversations that we shared. Of course the most wonderful thing that I’ve found through gaming is love.

For a while I struggled to find a person to connect with. I suppose like many I went through that `usual phase of insecurities and wondering when or if I would meet the right person. Then I started a game development course and all of a sudden I found that I had become a part of a very friendly and welcoming group. Up until that point I’d never really felt like I’d belonged anywhere and it was a strange, but wonderful feeling. While we all contributed something different, we also shared a like mindedness that I had never experienced before. Amongst them I also discovered the person who has since become my fiancé. I will always remember the first time that he told me how he felt, we both logged into Guild Wars, sat on the grassy hill in the guild watching the virtual sunset and just talked for a very long time. Since then we have ventured through many different games together. We frequently play MMORPGs co-operatively, our characters connected in the same way that we are. We have many stories to tell of slaying demons and conquering mountains together.

I feel that our shared love of gaming has only strengthened our bond for they offer us new ways in which to interact that we would not ordinarily enjoy in real life. We have become so adept at working together as a team that we no longer have to speak to know what the other is thinking. We also help each other out in many other ways such as trading useful items or swapping tips. The best thing is – of course – having a partner that understands my hobby – although sometimes I think we can be a bad influence on each other (long days spent sat in front of the console or splurges in the game shop come to mind.)

In all the years that I have spent playing games I have been saddened to find that there have also been many controversies and complaints revolving around gaming culture. While there have undeniably been some downs, I have always found the ups to be far vaster and greater. It seems to me that games are capable of bringing people together in many different and unique ways. I’m also proud to be able to associate myself as being a part of gaming culture.

So to everybody that makes gaming what it is,
have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Tags: , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

Leave a Reply

