Celebrate The Year 2014 And New Year’s Resolutions

What I remember about my year 2014

  • Ran Race For Life and raised over £200 for Cancer Research
  • Treated myself to a new camera and rediscovered my enjoyment of Digital Photography
  • Put together Share And Bake, a website where people can share their own baking recipes
  • Helped The Stoops with their website
  • Completed an online Creative Writing Course and got some decent feedback for my final piece
  • Came in the top three for my writing in a Pokemon Art/Writing contest.
  • Managed to write 50,000 words for NaNoWriMo
  • My adopted Hippopotamus Douglas from Born Free made the transistion back into the wild
  • Attended my first Comic Con. Also got to see Lion King in the theatre at the start of the year and have attended a few gigs too (including Whitby Gothic Festival.)
  • Started this blog and have written 115 posts so far

My Goals For 2015

  • Read more. I’ve actually already started this and have gotten through a few books in the last part of 2014. The thing is, I have a tendency to read a lot over a short space of time and then to not read much for a long time. I enjoy reading though and there are many areas where I could probably squeeze in the time to keep it up. I can’t keep using a lack of time as an excuse for not doing it; sometimes if we really want to do something we just have to find a way to make the time for it.
  • Eat more healthily. I’ve actually been attending my gym for over a year now. It was a previous resolution of mine a few years before to get more fit, and while its been a bit up and down I’ve overall been more active since. Eating is where I tend to struggle and let myself down. I have an addiction to pizza (and cheese,) which has become a bit of a comfort food for me. My boyfriend also wants to live a healthier lifestyle so it’ll help us both if we try to keep this up together.
  • Keep up with my card/board games. I actually really enjoy playing card games (things like Race For The Galaxy, Pokemon TCG, Android Net Runner and Dominion.) The thing is, the only time people get together to play games seems to be around Christmas, so I find myself taking advantage of this time and then not really playing them for the rest of the year round. Some can take a while to learn too so by the time I get the box out again I’ve forgotten the rules and have to go through the arduous process of learning them again. If other people are interested, I’d like to make the effort to play more of these games during the year too.
  • Make more me time. Recently I feel like I’ve been making a lot of compromises to make other people happy and then in turn feeling guilty for doing things for myself. I’d like to try and be more assertive about what’s important to me and to make a bit more time for myself to enjoy. That’s not to say that I don’t want to invest my time in other people, but It’s important to learn how to get a balance between the two.
  • Keep working on my confidence. I still have a lot of self-esteem issues that I need to learn how to deal with. I believe that the happier and more confident we feel within ourselves the more creative and productive we’ll feel. It’s a bit of an on-going process, but like trying to stick to a diet it can be all too easy to let it slide and give in.
  • Appreciate my backlog of games. I should really play more of what I have in my games library already instead of rushing to buy new games all the time.
Tags: , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Listing The Books I want To Read | My Inner Geek - January 15, 2015
  2. Reminiscing On The Year 2015 | My Inner Geek - January 5, 2016

Leave a Reply

