Listing The Books I want To Read

As it is one of my goals to read more this year I was originally considering attempting some sort of reading challenge, inspired by Emma who managed to complete the Goodreads 52 book challenge. If you like books you should check out her awesome blog at http://bluchickenninja.com/2015/01/08/on-reading-challenges/. She also mentioned another type of reading challenge called Popsugar’s 2015 Reading Challenge, which I did consider, but some of the points on the list seem a little odd.

The problem is that I already have a good idea in my mind of a selection of books that I would like to attempt to read, and on finishing one I tend to already have an idea of what I want to move onto next. While I want to read more in the sense that I stop taking long breaks where I don’t read anything at all, I’m also not sure if I want to read under pressure or if I’d have the time to. So I’ve gone and made a list on my Goodreads account that I can follow through at my own pace instead – https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/38957084-jo-osborne. I’m not sure if I’ll get through all of these books within the year and I’ll probably be adding more at a later point, but it’ll be fun trying to tick some of them off.

I would still like to attempt a reading challenge some day, as I seem to enjoy trying these things out. I’m just not ready to take that on yet. I have been reading a bit each week since the new year began however. I’ve found that you can fit a little bit of time in here and there, such as reading while I’m waiting for my dinner to cook or during advert breaks on TV. Sometimes a bit before I go to bed. Just so long as I remember to keep my kindle by my side :P.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

5 responses to “Listing The Books I want To Read”

  1. Pasduil says :

    You might want to look into audiobooks. They can be a good way to “read” while you’re doing other things. Or just a good way to read, period.

    If you buy them individually it works out rather expensive, but libraries often do them, an Audible sub is fairly reasonable, and depending on what you like BBC radio / iPlayer does a ton of readings and dramatizations that are worth looking into.

    But if you want to read a lot more than you used to, it probably is going to mean doing a fair bit less of something else you’re currently doing, even if it’s something like general web browsing that you might not notice.

    In my case it was probably a little less TV and a lot less gaming. It wasn’t particularly planned that way, but that’s how it worked out.

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks for the advice. I have actually considered Audible before. There are certain times where I tried to read but just couldn’t concentrate, like travelling for instance. It could work at the gym too maybe. I have a LOTR audio that I put on while I’m grinding levels on MMORPGS. It’s a good idea, plus I think we live in a generation where we feel the need to multi-task more. lol.

      Yeah, that’s one of the dilemmas of life. How to distribute the time wisely between activities. Usually there are areas where time could be put to better use though. I do want to cut down on the amount of TV I watch to be honest. I get sucked into watching stuff I’m not even that fussed about, lol.

      • Pasduil says :

        I think commuting, exercising and doing chores are popular times for listening to audiobooks , podcasts and such.

        Another thing about audiobooks is that I find the quality of the reading is very important. Some readers are fantastic and bring the book alive even more then reading it yourself. Others have such a boring delivery, they can ruin a great book.

  2. Marilyn Parel (@mparel) says :

    I’m so into audiobooks right now. Gives a good read with an added personality.

Leave a Reply

