Knowing When To Stick Things Out

When I was taking art classes – a while ago now – my teacher would be really critical; It wasn’t because he disliked my work, but that he wanted to get the best out of me. One of the things he kept telling me was to ‘be more loose.’ I never really understood what he meant at the time. I think I’ve recently started to learn how to loosen up though. Rather than focussing on small details I’ve been putting down blotches of colours with a large brush and finding that it does eventually all come together. Doing things this way can make me feel a little uneasy though.

I never use to like people seeing my images until I was finished. The reason being that things can take a while before they start to look good. I use to always keep an arm over my sketchbook to try and hide what I was doing. My sketchbook is also filled with lots of drawings that aren’t very good, but it’s all a part of the process of learning and experimenting. I would also sometimes throw my work away before it was done because I just couldn’t see it getting any better. We can’t always tell unless we stick something out though.

I love creating portraits for that reason. For a long time a portrait won’t look like much and then suddenly (usually after adding that speck to the eye) a face will emerge, staring back at you. It can be worth braving it and sticking until the end, even when we cannot yet see the sparkle. I’ve found that I cannot always predict how well my own work is going to turn out. There is usually always that turning point, where it comes to life.

step1

step2

step3

step4

step5

step6

will_i_am

Admittedly the likeness to Will.i.am could be better and the original line drawing wasn’t great, but I feel like my skin shading is starting to come along. I really wasn’t sure about the colours when I first started out, but I think they work in the final image.

stepbystep

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

12 responses to “Knowing When To Stick Things Out”

  1. writingbolt says :

    You seem to do well balancing PC time and art time.

    You got the boom-boom-pow of Will-I-AM.

    Art teachers (or art “critics”) are as capable of inspiring us as they are of being set in their ways. At least, I haven’t met one that made me solely feel more open with my work. I’ve had experiences with “experts” who know their techniques and want you (unconsciously) to emulate them/do things their way. For some people, they only understand others if the latter go through the same motions they do/did. You might hear them ask you to take them through the steps from the start.

    I think each artist/writer has a different experience with what their weak area is. For you, it was “openness.” For me, it was living in the gray, not making better use of positive and negative space. I remember those words vividly. I think my concern/difficulty was applying the ink without overloading the page/smearing something. So, I became cautious. Now, if I sketch something and then add the dark areas digitally, that might work better for me. But, I prefer to do more by hand until I feel more comfortable with PC usage. I never want to give up drawing by hand for PC use.

    I am usually stuck in ruts of the “little details.” I don’t like blotching anything and hoping it comes together. I tend to get too close to the image and then get frustrated when it doesn’t look right. I easily forget the basics of perspective and shape. I always hated still life sessions because I didn’t want to draw something without character. But, I can see now how such tasks would benefit me. I still want to draw something more unique than the usual bowl of fruit, though. 🙂

    I don’t mind people seeing my work in stages. In fact, unlike you, I’d rather they see it unfinished than finished so they can get out their thoughts before I finalize it. That gives me room to process the negatives and positives and hopefully not be impacted too much (and then hate my work). I don’t like people looking over my shoulder as I work. That’s very uncomfortable. But, I do look for more interaction, sharing of works and input. I am just not comfortable with this online sharing, as much.

    I can only recall being mad once when someone messed with my sketchbook. I also remember only one time when someone disrespected my portfolio. And, that was enough for me to not associate with that “crowd.”

    I don’t like throwing anything away. Even what seems like a mistake I tend to hang onto and stash somewhere…as if I will ever get back to all my “drafts.” I grew up with parents who decided what of my work was good or junk. I didn’t like finding my work missing and hearing it was tossed. As mad as I might get at my work, it’s hard for me to scrap much. But, eventually, the unused has to be reduced/burned.

    You are so right! Sometimes the smallest change can bring a portrait into the right light. I’ve experienced that with my celebrity drawing attempts.

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. I have too many interests and it’s a struggle to fit much of it in, but then I think I have a lot of creative energy and enjoy trying lots of things out. A lot of people in my family do art so I was always encouraged to draw while growing up, and even though I discovered other passions along the way I sill miss doing it from time to time. My art teacher would confuse me at times because he would speak of how art was the most creative subject of all and required a passion, but then he would also tell us how to do it quite often instead of letting us find our own style. I suppose you have to be careful with teachers as some will want to help bring out the strength in your own style and others will just try to get you to follow in their exact footsteps (I’ve found this to be the case in other subjects too.)

      Much of my own fault is that I’m a perfectionist and fearful of doing things wrong, but to improve you have to learn to let go and create bad pieces sometimes. It’s probably why I can be a bit too tight rather than working loosely and letting go. It’s also why I struggle to show bits of my work before completion, pick and choosing what I think is decent enough to show off. I find the ‘looking over the shoulder’ feeling a bit off putting and my friends have a way of always pointing out the things that are not yet finished and have yet to tackle, lol. If people are too harsh (saying things like ‘that sucks’ with no constructive criticism), it can put me off altogether and I’ll stop working on an idea. It would benefit me a lot to get earlier feedback on my work though. I don’t always find it easy to share online, but after I’ve put the time in it seems a shame just to close my sketchbook and not show anybody. Plus sharing online can help you to reach more people, and people who are less biased. Becoming more comfortable with showing and receiving feedback is something that a lot of us find difficult though. It can take practice.

      That’s not cool having other people touch your sketchbooks. They can be a personal space where you express ideas, so I like to keep mine hidden away. I don’t blame you for turning away from that crowd. I remember once when I was working on a watercolour painting a person came up behind with a brush and splattered yellow paint all over it. It was so annoying and took ages to fix. Often if you’re creative yourself you have a deeper respect for the time and effort that goes into the work of others.

      Yeah, it’s a good idea not to throw things away. You never know, in the future you might go back and find a use for what you started or at least have a record of how you’re improving. I’d like to collect together some of my older work sometime to see how I’ve come along. I think I get a bit too emotionally invested in my work sometimes though, and I can feel very real frustration or disappointment when things don’t turn out how I’m hoping (especially if it’s taken a long time to get there.) Again, perfectionist ways adding a strain. I’m trying to let go of that belief that everything has to be perfect first time. I know for a fact that not everything in my images is perfect. I know what you mean about accidentally overlooking the basics, and it’s usually only afterwards that I realize I should have done it a different way. As I do art just for fun now there’s no pressure so I can just draw what I enjoy, but then I think this has left me lacking elsewhere.

      I still draw a lot by hand, but I prefer to work digitally than to use paints now. I also sketch quick ideas on my tablet. I’ve found that the computer helps me to loosen up because I can undo and rub things out more easily. I do miss real paints sometimes though. I think that having experience elsewhere can make you better at moving onto the PC. I knew a couple of 3D artists that couldn’t draw and never practiced other skills and I think it hindered them a bit.

      Thanks for the comment, I found it really interesting hearing about how another works. 😀

      • writingbolt says :

        I grew up in a creative family, too. And, it made me terribly sad when I saw each member give up their creativity to focus on numbers, banking, manual labor, etc. It seemed everything they inspired me to do was pointless, worthless. Yet, they taught me they had these talents. So, from a young age, I kept saying I would be the one who made the difference; I would be the one who made a name for himself with his art. Unfortunately, I have been troubled by so many factors which have stunted my achievement. My family is partly to blame.

        I’m going to get “Star-Wars-geek-ified” for a metaphor moment. Writingbolt striking… It’s like a Jedi teaching a “padawan” how to use a lightsaber and then cutting the kid’s wrists. That’s how it has felt growing up wanting to practice and learn more but always running into complications and/or lousy teachers. There’s no time for this. There’s no room for that. Others see this as junk while I want to save/display it. I’ve been at odds with people so often, it’s pathetic. And, I don’t even make controversial art.

        i think it’s the perfectionist in each artist that comes out when given the space to critique. If an artist develops one concrete style, he/she might not be receptive to other styles. He/She might only see things done one way. So, you’ve had mixed experience/s, as I suspected. There will be the good and bad moments, I suspect, unless/until you have a mentor/teacher who is as open as the student. It’s working in sync with each other, I presume. To balance the good and bad: 1) Be sure to defend your own methods. Don’t ever let an instructor convince you there is only one way to do something unless you are in a contest judged by them. 2) When spending time listening to a mentor/teacher, let them show you their way. If we interrupt, they might just get irate. Wait til they let you speak to give differences of opinion. If you are not comfortable with their “style”/method, you may let them know this by not being receptive. Let them realize you are not following the steps and then discuss why. 3) When done with the mentor/teacher, find your own comfortable method of completing the task. But, if you do things your way with the mentor over your shoulder, expect difference of opinion.

        Just thinking about all of this reminds me of being a kid and having an art teacher walk around the room…hearing mixed opinions, little sounds that told me she was either happy or unhappy with my work. I can hear her whisper over my shoulder. I don’t know how I wasn’t a sweaty mess. I guess I didn’t have sweat glands.

        I think the curse of being artistic is becoming sort of autistic. Just as autistic people are said to be overly sensitive, we artists make ourselves sensitive by tuning into things people miss when functioning/working. When you are working hard, you don’t study the light and shadow of things (unless maybe you’re gardening or concerned about lighting in a home/room construction situation). When we tune our brains to look at the little details, everything becomes finer. It’s less about function and more about appearance. It’s like looking in the mirror too often or taking too many “selfies.” It’s a sort of vanity. But, on the plus side, it’s how people hone skills. A martial artist or dancer hones their art with practice, making quicker moves with sharper precision to have more fluid movement and an overall better composition. A simply functioning person might swat a fly or even a butterfly. But, a thinking, artistic person will observe and try to represent the details in art and let the creature be so they can study it.

        That’s been my lifelong struggle, too. Letting go of mistakes. It comes from a perfectionist family throwing away what they thought was junk when I did not as quickly agree. Growing up never sure what is good enough is unsettling. And, the praise of one is crapped on by another. So, what is right? I guess only we know. So, we become our own little bottled perfectionists, slightly paranoid when we aren’t sure what we did is just right. Just as a cook might struggle to make a sauce dazzling.

        The funny/strange thing I have been experiencing as I get older is that I have a desire to make simpler and simpler pieces. I’ve even started working with silhouettes. I am slowly becoming “looser” by making pieces that require less detail/technique. I suppose once I get down to doing abstracts like Kandinsky, I will work my way back–hopefully–toward the technical pieces I hope will dazzle the world. I don’t want my “crap” in a museum if I know I can do better. Nor do I want to go broke like Van Gogh only to have people value my tossed out work when I’m gone.

        I can’t even say I’ve had friends to do that. I had classmates. But, I am not sure I’ve ever had a group of friends to look over my work and discuss it in a friendly manner. If I ever had a group look at my work with me, the comments were more often catty or simple compliments without explanation…sort of like modern social media.

        If someone says, “That sucks,” I will probably ask them why it sucks. And, if they can’t tell me, THEN I will get mad. If they can give me a decent reason why it sucks, I will thank them. And, if they just don’t like it or go on with their disapproval, I’ll put my work away and tell them to leave. Some artists think they can post anything anywhere they want. But, that’s pushing their luck. Some art is best reserved for an elite audience.

        Well, one of my big beefs with sharing online is that we come up with some great ideas, and there’s no way to prevent someone from running with that idea and making it their own. So, you might invent something and show it off because you want to have an audience. And, then someone could see that and put it to their own profitable use. Now, I have no evidence of this happening, yet. But, there have been times when I have said or designed things and then discovered someone had turned it into a product. I drew some Pokemon many years ago before they had Pokemon Gold/Silver. And, sure enough, my designs turned up in the later games/cartoons. I don’t think anyone spied on me. But, is it possible the artists had the same ideas as me?

        So, while it’s great to reach a larger audience online, if we have no control over that audience, it’s like Disney letting everyone go through their studio space before announcing the release of the next project. Wouldn’t that allow people to rush an idea into their own production and beat Disney to the punch? It’s great to get feedback from around the world, but if many who view our work aren’t speaking their minds, we don’t know what they are doing with our work. Another example: I might create some sexy artwork/story which I don’t want people to use for deviant purposes. [And, that word alone, “deviant,” is why I don’t like that art site. I don’t want to be a deviant anything.] Now, if I share my rather personal, adult artwork to get an audience, and some weirdo/s start misusing my work…it just feels wrong. So, I want to limit the audience of that work yet still express that part of myself if it needs to be let out. We don’t want to restrict ourselves as artists, but we also need to be mindful of where we “exhale.”

        I suppose if I didn’t give a crap about profits/money/my well-being, I wouldn’t worry about such things, and the world might be a happier, sharing place.

        The “crowd” I was talking about was art school/college. I had one guy review my portfolio in such a disrespectful way and then take me on a tour that was appalling. I was so outraged that I threw my portfolio in the garbage and said I would never go to (that) art school. I decided to keep training myself and seek a different route to fame. The classmates who messed with my sketchbook (school notebook) were just taking advantage of me when I let them look at it…or when I had to use the restroom. But, no, that wasn’t nice, either.

        I don’t even know how you fixed a watercolor painting. I probably would have had a small meltdown and thrown it away to start over.

        If you had any idea how much time I give to my work…what takes some people thirty minutes to draw might take me hours. I seem to be very slow. And, if the day flies by, and I am still not done with one piece…and it’s not making me happy…what then? What am I doing? It upsets me deeply, to not only be slow but not create what my mind sees/wants.

        You’re welcome. 🙂 It’s nice exchanging lengthy thoughts with someone. We could take this to my Chat Cafe space (or another topic), if you’d like to continue talking.

        Wow, I wrote another novel here…

      • wallcat says :

        Hehe, I write novels in comments too by accident. I’m not very good at keeping things short, lol.

        I know what you mean. You’re encouraged to do these things while you’re younger, but as you grow up you suddenly realize that making a living from your creativity is difficult and suddenly you’re being told to do something different or not receiving any encouragement. I’m sorry to hear you’ve felt at odds so often. I too have been there and can’t understand why when all I’ve tried to do is be nice and helpful to people. In turn I’ve had to deal with many un-supporting attitudes. In the end though, you make the final choice. Even if you receive criticism you can still choose to what degree you follow it. It’s difficult to get anywhere with art, but if that’s something you really want then keep trying no matter what anybody else says.

        That’s good advice for working with a mentor, I’ll remember that. A lot of people take art thinking it’s an easy subject, but it’s actually really stressful. You have to put a lot of time in and be able to handle harsh criticism. There were times I’d return home in tears because of something my teacher said. In comparison when I studied game development a lot of the other students complained that the teacher was overbearing whereas I found it to be a pleasant delight by comparison.

        I think it’s difficult to be a very creative person. Not many easy opportunities for expressing that creativity. Sometimes we’re unhappy if we do because it’s not right, but we’d also be unhappy if we didn’t. When all is well a creative moment can feel almost euphoric and makes it all worthwhile. I think artistic people, like you say, can be quite sensitive. I wanted to become one of those people that was fully dedicated to something and became really good at it, but then my family acted like there was something wrong with that – “you need to live a more balanced lifestyle”, lol. The rest of my family is made up of perfectionists so it’s no surprise I have it too. Plus my parents could be a little critical at times, so I guess I started to feel like I could never be good enough no matter how hard I tried. I know what you mean about being paranoid over what is right. I try to praise people myself when they deserve it because it can really give them a boost.

        I noticed the silhouettes on your blog. They were really interesting. Perhaps you will move back, or maybe after having attempted detail you’re now finding it more interesting to do other things. Like how the Greeks finally achieved realism and then changed their style. I’m not great at abstracts, I suppose I’m more into illustration type work. I like illustrators like John Howe.

        Well I spent a long time with no decent friends, then I went to a place where other like minded people were and managed to come across a very boisterous group. The problem is that they can either be too critical based on their own strong opinions or too nice because they want to please me. I find it very difficult finding the right people to check my work. It’s not just the art, I make the odd game, but people will tell you it sucks just because they’re not keen on the genre or something. I prefer to be around people who can discuss opinions rather than throwing strong words at people. It’s also important to remember that it’s far easier to criticise than it is to do. Of course it’s not always easy for people to put into words why they feel a certain way about something, so you have to ask the right questions to locate the answer.

        Hehe, I know what you mean. For a long time I was sure I had a fly on my wall or something, because so many of my ideas ended up becoming real things before I had a chance to explore them. I’m sure it was just coincidence though and nobody really stole my ideas. Ideas aren’t actually worth very much and lots of people have them. It’s the execution that matters. You do have to be careful what you post and where though. If an idea is really precious then it might be a good idea to keep it to yourself until you’ve gotten a bit more work done on it. It’s terrible that people would want to misuse another’s work. I always try to treat other work with respect. I tend to just post the stuff that I know I’m not using for anything important.

        School/college can be tough. A lot of my work was sabotaged and ruined there. People kept sneaking up and snatching my pencil while I was trying to work. They just don’t seem to understand what you invest into these things. If you look closely at the painting I did you can still see some of the yellow splotches. I put so much effort into it though and had received the offer of having it framed somewhere and then they did that to it. I’m glad you didn’t let it put you off completely and kept going. The ones that make it are often the ones that persevere and keep fighting. If you give up you’re letting those naysayers win.

        It takes me a long time to work too. Some of my shaded portraits take hours to do. I always thought I was a bit on the slow side, but then I’ve spoken to a few other people who claim the same thing. I got slower as I improved too, I guess because I’m less likely to skip over the detail. It’s the same with game development, it can take a few weeks to get anything decent done. The problem is, if after all that time you then realize you’re not happy with it, it can be a bit crushing. I think I can’t deal with criticism so well when its taken a long time, or if it’s in a state where it would be difficult to make changes. I have too many ideas and a lot of frustration that I can’t get them realized.

        If you don’t mind me saying, You sound like you’ve had some rough times, but you’re not alone in that. Sometimes I feel like I’ve met more awkward people than nice ones, but you won’t always be at odds with everybody. Perhaps you just haven’t had enough opportunities to meet like minded people yet. Either way, keep following your vision. 🙂

      • writingbolt says :

        I don’t know why it shows this comment as having been received today. I thought I already replied to it.

        Well, if it is new, perhaps we can become better acquainted and work together on something, or train together.

        Yes, I have had quite a few rough times, not as many as some might have. But, even now, I am struggling just to get through my days.

      • wallcat says :

        Hey, sorry I was sorting some of my comments out and accidentally changed a few things I wasn’t meant to. That’ll be why you’ve received it again. Sorry to hear you’re having a tough time at the moment. We all struggle with different things to different degrees. It’s the same here, while I know others are going through worse, each day can still bring with it new challenges to face. Hopefully things will take a turn for the better soon. 🙂

      • writingbolt says :

        How do you change an old comment to a new one?

      • wallcat says :

        My friend and I were having long conversations in the comments and I decided to clear some of them up by disapproving them, only I accidentally clicked on a few that I didn’t intend to take off and had to re-approve them. I assume that’s why.

      • writingbolt says :

        I see. As for the excessive comments, that is why I created a “chat cafe” space. So, if long comments bother you or anyone, there’s a space to be more vocal without suffocating the diminutive blog post. Maybe if you set up such a page on your blog/account, you could divert some of those long talks there.

      • writingbolt says :

        I think art IS an easy subject in school because it’s supposed to curb certain behaviors. It’s a secret psychological tool of school to help students work through their “angst” much like “home ec” in certain schools teaches kids about baking, etc. It’s a period of self-therapy. But, the careless take it as an “easy A.” And, I don’t think it gets the respect it deserves.

        If it’s stressful, I suspect we are putting the stress upon ourselves, possibly by thinking it’s like the other subjects which are mostly more literary.

        I don’t think those who take art as an easy class even care about the criticism. They will just say, “Whatever,” and not put in more effort. Some will add, “My parents pay for this school. You wouldn’t have a job if they didn’t.”

        It wrinkles the brain just thinking about the differences and different values of the classes.

        So, it’s your mind that is discontent with the conditions of art class (more sensitive during) yet elated by the conditions of (PC classes). I would probably be the opposite. Computer classes make me a tad uneasy. Though, I’d be more upset with myself for botching a piece of artwork. But, if I am not getting what I need to out of the PC class, I’d just feel worse/lousy/distressed.

        I’ve been told to praise people even when they don’t deserve it, or, rather, even when I don’t feel it in me to praise them. Like when a young child (or newly attempting artist) draws something that doesn’t look like the subject he/she is drawing, we are to praise them to encourage them to keep at it. But, is that helping? Or, is it wrong to say the drawing doesn’t look good enough? Choices. Choices.

        Well, like I said, I am entering a “simpler” phase of art appreciation, getting in touch with a younger? part of myself, rejuvenating the soul of art that I had in my youth (I think). And, once the “tree of life” is restored, maybe it/I can grow/improve anew.

        I don’t know if I will ever be content with abstracts. But, I know I’ve spent a long time criticizing them. Maybe that’s a sign I need to change.

        I am not sure I’ve seen much/any of Howe’s work. So many artists fly by my radar.

        Tell me what you REALLY thought of the silhouettes:P What were your initial reactions/feelings.

        Is it possible you went from a no-friend zone to a zone of people who were like negative mirrors (of yourself)? It sounds like you were confronted by a crowd of your negative emotions/reactions, the things that irk other people, perhaps. I have recently thought that’s what I’ve been facing the past 10 years, perhaps. I have heard people call me names and didn’t think their names were true. But, maybe “denying” it has forced me to face myself in other forms.

        On the contrary, ideas are priceless. And, anyone that convinces you they are anything less is a conman. If not for the ideas, there wouldn’t be advancement. Ideas are both capable of blessing and curse. Have you seen “The Croods”? But, yes, it’s the execution/production of the idea that decides what harm or good it will bring. It could leave some penniless while thieves prosper. It could lead to global disaster. It could corrupt nature. Or, a great idea could help a species survive a natural disaster/extinction. Yet, some events seem destined to happen, and who are we the “infected with ideas” to question something bigger than ourselves? When is an idea our rightful gift? And, when is it playing god?

        If someone messed with me like that, taking my pencil and/or doing something worse, that could break my spirit. It would eventually drive me mad. And, the forces of darkness would enjoy that, I suspect. So, what can you do? Good question. Where’s the balance between light and dark, I ask you.

        If my picture got splotched with yellow like that, I probably would have had a small meltdown if not worse. Who knows what might have happened. I might have sought revenge.

        Not being alone in something with the support next to you is different from not being alone but separated by what seems like a dimensional barrier or universe of deep space. I can contact lots of people and maybe get some input if I put everything on the line. But, no response I get from that compares to having someone you trust and respect sit with you, be there to catch the tears and appreciate the smiles.

        I am but a tree enduring foul weather, looking forward to nicer times when my fruit can shine in the sun and benefit myself as well as the world.

      • wallcat says :

        Yeah that may be the case at school, but many budding artists can also start from such a young age and do want to take it seriously. That’s why it’s frustrating when you’re trying to practice your skills and the people around you just want to disrupt and mess about. Then again we can also look at this as just another life experience that has shaped who I am, my values and possibly the source for some of my inspiration. Good and bad times come to us all I guess and thankfully I’m through that time. Getting angry and giving up is the easy option, whereas continuing to fight for what you think is right takes a lot of courage.

        I heard a while back that some think it’d be a good idea to stop teaching classes like art in school because they’re less likely to lead to a job, but I think this will hurt those that thrive on a creative mindset and maybe struggle elsewhere. I guess you’re right that if they chose a subject because it’s easy they wouldn’t care, but then I don’t understand why you’d want to waste your time doing something that you’re not going to get anything out of. We probably do cause the stress on ourselves.

        I felt like I was actually able to be more creative in PC class than I ever could in art class. I was allowed to build what I wanted and my art background also meant that I found it easier to create images for my games. It got me a lot of praise and encouragement from the teacher. By comparison in art class, I felt like I was constantly being told what style to work in or what subject matter to work with. I suppose it’s kind of subjective and I often found that my favourite pieces tended to be the least favourite of my teacher so we didn’t always see eye to eye. He would talk as if his way was always the right way though and would tell me to change direction. There was another guy in the class who did pixel art and didn’t quite fit in either. I suppose Fine Art class just doesn’t suit what everybody wants to achieve through their creativity.

        Botching a piece of artwork probably distresses you more because it holds more value to you. Is there a reason for why computer classes make you feel uneasy?

        Maybe ideas are treated slightly differently in game development than they are elsewhere. As I like to try and expose myself to lots of different experiences I pick up on lots of ideas that I carry to different disciplines (I even tried Longbow Archery once which then inspired my art and game development.) Lots of people have ideas for what they’d like to see in their ideal game and all of them think it’s the best one yet, but it doesn’t mean you can build all of them – there just isn’t the time or resources to. One of my game design books finished on a sentence about how life is short and you only have so much time to invest in your ideas so best not to waste it on bad projects. I guess it’s just trying to keep people realistic on what is actually achievable. Thinking like this can also help to encourage people not to sit on their ideas. I think I read somewhere that everybody is capable of having at least one great idea per year, but most of them never write it down and eventually it gets forgotten. These ideas do not add any value into the world until you start to work on them. I keep a notebook on me for all of the ideas I have, but only once I start to flesh them out can I tell how valuable they really are. In The Croods for instance, if he had just tossed the ideas aside instead of utilizing them they would not have been worth anything. It’s just a different way of looking at things though and I understand what you’re saying. It’s interesting to hear this different viewpoint to what I’ve been taught.

        Well you have to offer constructive criticism sometimes to help guide people if they need it, but it’s possible to do that without being hurtful (I tried to write about this before – https://myinnergeekblog.wordpress.com/2014/07/14/how-to-give-criticism/.) The odd kind remark here and there isn’t difficult to do and it’s something that I try to do.

        Well I’m referring to the Silhouettes I saw ‘Violence Over Free Speech.’ I’m not actually familiar with the rhyme so I may have misinterpreted. It first made me think of how in our society words are used as weapons and using them carelessly can actually cause a lot of harm (I read that we link emotions with words so our choice of language can cause the brain to light up more.) Free speech is an awkward one for me because one person’s right to express themselves can in turn take away the rights of another. I have often seen it used as an excuse to bully, but if we throw around insults how can we in turn not expect the other to retaliate. While I feel strongly about freedom of expression I also think we have a responsibility to choose our words with care. It’s not that we can’t have free speech though, but we can’t expect to never have to face the consequences for what we say either. I particularly liked the image with ‘Boom’ written over the mouth and I think that’d work really well just on its own. I feel a lot can be taken from it even though it’s a fairly simple image. It’s very bold and eye-catching. I also think that it works better because it’s a silhouette; More detail would just confuse the eye.

        Oh no of course it doesn’t compare. Nothing compares to being with the person you trust most in the world. Those sorts of connections can be hard to come by and I’m lucky in that I do have that. It still helps me to think that while I may be really at odds with one person that there will be others out there that feel the same way I do. It’s that sense of wanting to feel like you’re part of a like minded community, and during bad times it can often feel like those things don’t exist. That you’re the odd one out that nobody could ever possibly understand. It can help to know that you’re not the only one who has had certain struggles in life. There are different types of alone really.

  2. writingbolt says :

    I lost my previous comment trying to open your link in another window…so I will try to repeat in the briefest of ways….

    Slackers don’t care what job they get when their minds are on drinking, smoking, partying and casual sex. So, that’s why they “waste” their class space/time.

    Of course, some would like to get rid of art classes and replace them with more PC classes. It’s old technology versus the new. And, I don’t like it.

    PC classes are likely to be more open to creativity–as long as you’re not learning code/language–because the “rules” are still being written and continually revised. The tools of art have been left unchanged for some time. Or, at least, that’s the only way I can explain the change in thinking. I am sure plenty of artists come up with new ways to depict things. But, they’re ignored by all the new gadget heads. It’s like me making toys when other kids had rich parents by them the latest ones. Knowing me, I probably would have tried to make an IPad instead of owning one, and my classmates would have just laughed at me.

    I don’t like all the technology. I didn’t need glasses til I started doing art on a PC. I had lame PC classes in school and always felt slower than the rest of the class. I think learning PC code is like working with Lego blocks instead of bricks and mortar. Why do I want a pixel ball instead of a real one?

    Your PC book is pitching life philosophy while so many are living an artificial life in a PC world. Where does this take humanity in the future?

    You’ve never seen a military group sing that rhyme? I can think of a few cartoons that have used it, including Bugs Bunny and Stewie from Family Guy (though that second one is a horribly violent cartoon).

    Those silhouettes I merely tweaked and borrowed. I was referring to the silhouettes on my About Me page…which I also tweaked (but more than the hands, feet and head).

    Free speech is a form of weapon/gun that I think irks some cultures who restrain themselves for whatever reason. Americans question such restraint much the way those who don’t follow the guidelines of Catholicism can’t understand waiting til marriage to have sex. It’s just a different form of self-discipline for the sake of clearing the mind of distractions. And, while every culture has the capacity to get all patriotic and shoot their guns into the sky, they may not realize or wish to acknowledge how such recklessness might upset another. I think Americans are especially blind to this, and all the patriotic propaganda they are fed doesn’t help.

    That’s what I was going for. 🙂 Simple but effective.

Leave a Reply

