Obsessed With Collecting Things

I’m one of those people that once I decide I like something I won’t just be content with one or two of them. Before long they will start to amass within the household in ever increasing numbers. I suppose my room is the one place that can be all about me, and so I love to surround myself with things that I feel represent me. I like to collect ornaments, models, books and clothes relating to the things that I love.

I wondered if this was a trait relating to geeks in general. I’ve noticed upon visits to the bedrooms of other fellow geeks that they too seem to surround themselves with all sorts of merchandise and knick-knacks of all the things they find interesting from games to comics to anime to sci-fi etc… In fact before I agreed to go out with my boyfriend he managed to impress me with a collection of replica swords from Lord Of The Rings – Hadhafang is my favourite; That of course granted him a number of bonus points in my book :P.

One such interest I have is dragons. I’m not quite sure why or when I decided that I’d be into these winged beasts. I think they represent a level of majesty and power while also being free to go where they please. We also have a very typical idea of what a dragon is, yet they can still come in many different shapes, sizes and colours – not all dragons have to look reptilian. I use to love going around castles when I was younger too, so it wasn’t unusual to come across shops that sold fantasy or medieval related objects. It’s only a lack of space that prevents me from getting more dragon related items, although I will continue to pick the odd thing up every once in a while. Other things I’ve also been known to collect are computer textbooks, Ghibli films and anything to do with Johnny Depp or Dark Souls.

Feel free share your own obsessions in the comments below?

Here Be Dragons!

Here Be Dragons!

A few of my ornaments

A few of my ornaments

Oh and I guess I started to collect mead for a while too  :P

Oh and I guess I started to collect mead for a while too 😛

Tags: , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

5 responses to “Obsessed With Collecting Things”

  1. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    I collect action figures and Lego sets from The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings. I also have some dragons and fairy figurines and other fantasy related stuff. I love your dragons!

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. I can just never seem to get enough of them, lol. I like Lord of The Rings, but I’ve yet to read through all of the books (I’ve read the Hobbit.) It’s my ambition this year to try and read through them all. I’d love to get an ornament of Smaug, 😛

Leave a Reply

