My Time Spent On A Minecraft Server

overviewAt the start of the new year my friends and I started a Minecraft server. I’m not actually that keen on Minecraft and so haven’t experienced much of the game. I enjoy it every once in a while, more as a creative activity than anything else. I like to build things, but the mining process doesn’t interest me very much. I know I could just use creative mode, but it doesn’t feel the same somehow. The awesome thing about joining a server with friends is that they can mine for the materials I need to build with and in turn they appreciate me adding cool things to the world. I sort of hoped that maybe we’d all inject our personalities into the world to create a mix of interesting and wonderful things. It felt more worthwhile somehow, knowing that if I put something there somebody else would chance upon it once they logged in.

Unfortunately, as time went on people started to lose interest in the server – myself included admittedly. It just didn’t seem like it was worth paying for anymore and so we closed it down last week. I went for one last spin around the world and felt suddenly sentimental for the things I had created. I had just finished reading The Farseer Trilogy at the time, and was eager to take my own quest in starting a dragon just like Prince Verity. My friends doubted how feasible this idea was.

serpentdragon

I started small at first, thinking it would be easier just to create a serpentine like body. I approached this project in the same way I would pixel art, working with a circle and building it upwards. Each section contains a door and links up to an underground base.

belowtheserpentwaterlift

temple

I was inspired by my youth spent playing Tomb Raider games for this. I wanted it to feel extensive so that my friends could have fun exploring. There was also a little bit of Primal (PS2) inspiration there (The lava chambers in the fourth world.) The bottom temple extends out along four arms, one of which connects up to my friend’s base. At the top of the water lift is also a secret spare room – and a chest containing rare resources. My friend also introduced me to a chisel – a part of the mod pack we were using – allowing me to create decorative blocks. The mods also allowed me to turn into a bat, making it far easier to build larger structures (We were using the Direworlf20 pack – chisel and morph mods included.) I found much of the additional content to be too overwhelming to even consider, but I couldn’t live without those two features now. towerTired of moving downwards I went the other way with this tall tower. It has a working portcullis on the front – thanks to my friend’s expertise with red stone. A room extends off to the side and contains an enchantment library – well my partner had requested I build a cool place to put it. Below is a broken staircase requiring a leap of faith; Water cushions the fall below and leads back into my underground temple. It was inspired by my love of Dark Souls, the stairwell to the four kings. dragontowerI was itching to tackle a more ambitious dragon project. I thought it would be cool to make it appear as if the tower was linked to the dragon. Like with pixel art, the smaller the structure the less detail you can have and so I had to scale right up from the first attempt – as I had more resources now this option had become more feasible. Using Drake’s Comprehensive Compedium of Dragonology by Duglaid A. Steer for reference I started construction from the neck, extending the head and body out of either side. The wingspan and legs were the hardest parts to craft, although using a dragon on take off simplified this. I knocked out some blocks on the neck and filled the hollow centre with lava – like Smaug in The Hobbit before he starts to breathe fire. The dragon also has diamond eyes. To get onto the saddle a teleporter can be used from the top of the tower. minecraftdragonDespite the lava burns my time spent on the Mincraft server was really fun and I came to appreciate the game on a greater level. I’m sure I’ll return and build even bigger and greater creations one day, but for now, while it might not amount to much I’m actually quite proud of what I achieved.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

8 responses to “My Time Spent On A Minecraft Server”

  1. Sue Archer says :

    Wow, that’s quite elaborate! I’m not sure I would have had the patience. Love the dragon. 🙂

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. I don’t usually have much patience for a lot of Minecraft in all honesty (hence why I don’t enjoy the mining part of it,) but my friend is a massive fan and really wanted somebody to share it with. It didn’t actually take too long to build – the dragon was a couple of evenings.

  2. kixty9 says :

    I think it would be nice if you mentioned, in the text, the mod used to chisel and turn into a bat.

    • wallcat says :

      Yes, of course. My friend is the one who is into all of the mods, up until this point I was still on vanilla. He set it up to work with the Direworlf20 pack, which contained a lot of different mods (chisel and morph mods.) I’ll put the corrections in place. Thanks for the re-blog.

  3. kixty9 says :

    “[…] thanks to my friend’s expertise with red sand”
    No, it’s not red sand! The correct name is Redstone Powder/Dust. Red sand is another block. See here:
    http://minecraft.gamepedia.com/Redstone
    http://minecraft.gamepedia.com/Sand

  4. kixty9 says :

    Reblogged this on Minecraft 18.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Creative Mind | My Inner Geek - September 10, 2015
  2. Reminiscing On The Year 2015 | My Inner Geek - January 6, 2016

Leave a Reply

