Celebrate The Small Things: 1 May

jagerraisincakef5f01-vik-smallthings2

  • A good part of my week was spent making preparations for my boyfriend’s upcoming birthday. I wanted to make him a cake, and well, it didn’t all go according to plan (it’s only my second ever attempt at doing an icing run out,) but the bit of cake I tried was surprisingly tasty, and that’s what matters right? – The thought and the taste. I don’t even normally like Jägermeister, but this experiment wielded unexpected results. I’m calling it a Jäger-raisin cake.
  • It was also my granddad’s birthday and we threw a little party so I had even more excuses to try out a bit of baking. My cupcakes went down a treat.
  • Went to see Avengers: Age of Ultron with my friends. Really enjoyed it.
  • Yay, the weekend and an extra long one.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

12 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 1 May”

  1. Marilyn Parel (@mparel) says :

    Congrats on all the baking. I’m envious. Now you go and enjoy the weekend.

  2. lexacain says :

    Yay for Jager-raisin cake and cupcakes for your grandfather’s birthday! I’m glad to hear the new Avengers was good. I’m dying to see it. Have a great weekend!

  3. pempispalace says :

    I recognised what the cake was supposed to be immediately so I think you should be immensely proud of your creation! I hope your boyfriend appreciated the lengths you went to!! My son’s girlfriend was baking long into the night to make him THREE birthday cakes for his 21st the other day – I think she spoils him rather a lot 🙂 Lovely to meet via Lexa’s Celebrate blog hop which I’ve now joined. Special Teaching at Pempi’s Palace

    • wallcat says :

      Thank you. I only ever think to attempt these things when I’m on a deadline to someones birthday, and so had little time to perfect what I was doing, lol. He thought it was pretty cool. I think he spoils me too much, so it’s nice to be show him how grateful I am.

  4. Sue Archer says :

    Finally got to see Avengers today! Glad you are having an extra long weekend. 🙂 Have fun!

  5. M.R.R. says :

    The cakes still look good, and more importantly, they taste good.

  6. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    You did an amazing job on that cake, particularly the deer head and the lettering. And it tasted good, too!
    I haven’t seen Avengers yet, but I’ll get there. Hope you enjoyed your long weekend!

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks, it was quite tricky to do with my lack of experience so I guess i’m happy with doing my best. I had a lovely weekend thanks, hope you did too. The Avengers is well worth watching.

Leave a Reply

