Celebrate The Small Things: 22 May

strawberry_meringue_pief5f01-vik-smallthings2

  • I baked my first meringue pie, with a strawberry filling. I’d never done meringue or curd before, but it worked and went down a treat – rather quickly I might add.
  • I’ve been gradually adding to my game prototype. Had to do a bit of A.I, which I’m not brilliant at and yet my path finding is working relatively well. I also got to try a technique that I’ve been wanting to have a go at for while, just never had a reason to use it until now. So satisfying when you run it to find your logic actually works.
  • Finished reading Frankenstein. I’ve got an ambition to get through some of the classics, but I don’t always find them easy to read; I really enjoyed it though. Decided to buy the ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ books, which I’ll be reading next. Now I can finally find out what it’s all about.
  • Bank holiday weekend, yay!
Tags: , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

13 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 22 May”

  1. M.R.R. says :

    That pie sounds tasty.

  2. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    I’ll bet that pie was yummy. I’ve never been a big fan of lemon meringue, but strawberry — I’d be all over that. It sounds like you’re making progress with your game. Congrats on finishing Frankenstein. I agree, some of those classics aren’t easy reads. Have a great long weekend!

    • wallcat says :

      Yeah, I’m not the biggest fan of lemon, so I try to change some of the recipes to incorporate flavours I do like. It was pretty yummy. I find it interesting to read the classics because it has inspired so many things to follow, but I find It takes me longer to get through them.

  3. Cathrina Constantine says :

    That pie looks scrumptious!!!!! I never did read Frankenstein, but seen many movies about him or it!!! Have a nice weekend.

    • wallcat says :

      I’ve seen the story of Frankenstein repeated so many times, but never knew how much of it was added or taken from the original. It’s interesting to read the classics that inspired so much to follow.

  4. lexacain says :

    Congrats on the progress and good learning curve on your designing! Good luck on reading the classics — you’re ambitious. I want of piece of that meringue pie!!

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. I always have been quite ambitious with what I try to read. When I was younger I’d give up after a few pages, but I’ve gotten better at sticking them out. If only I could transfer pie through this blog.

  5. eclecticalli says :

    That pie! It looks amazing!! Yum!

  6. loricarlson66 says :

    The pie looks delicious.. congrats on your first meringue! Frankenstein was a great read for me a few summers back.. it was difficult reading at times, but such a great story 😀 Good luck with the series of books to read and your AI project!

    • wallcat says :

      Thank you. Yeah it was a really interesting read and not how I imagined it to be at all.

      • loricarlson66 says :

        You are most welcome :)It’s fun experimenting with new things and seeing them come to fruition, sometimes in surprising ways.

Leave a Reply

