You Only Live “Your” Life Once

Over a weekend BBQ I got talking to my partner’s dad about his recent sky diving trip to Prague. He had some spectacular videos to share. He’s the type of person that doesn’t find it easy to sit still and is always encouraging us to go out and do things. In his own words, ‘we’re not getting any younger, go out and live life. Tick those items off your bucket list while you still can.’ In truth, I think he wishes he could share his interests with us, while in turn he doesn’t understand why we enjoy spending so much time indoors. He’s right about living life while we can, I’m just not sure if that has to entail throwing myself out of a plane. I have my own bucket list and my own ideas for what it means to live (I ticked one of them off earlier this year when I walked up Mount Snowdon.)

‘You only live once’ are words we often attribute towards certain activities such as travelling, thrill seeking or spending quality time with friends and family. Only we can’t really quantify what it means to live life to the full because it’s different for everybody. We all have our own dreams to follow and bucket lists to clear. Even if the thing we enjoy most is simple, quiet ‘me time’, we should enable ourselves to have that. For the most part I try to keep an open mind; It’s good to try new things so that we can learn about ourselves and not risk missing out on experiences, but at the same time we all have our limits too. It’s not pleasant trying to push ourselves in ways that make us feel uncomfortable. Not everybody is an outdoors type, thrill seeker or particularly social, but they can still live their own version of a full life.

Too often we make excuses to avoid things, even if it’s something we really want. For example, there are certain projects I’d like to work on but will delay by telling myself that I’m not yet ready or good enough. If we’re not careful we may continue to put something off for the rest of our lives. Other times we can feel guilty for allowing ourselves to indulge in what we enjoy most, even if the alternative is living under copious amounts of stress and displeasure on a regular basis.

When I was younger I was full of energy and was always the first one to race out of bed in the morning. Each new morning heralded another day of opportunities; to overcome challenges, to learn, to laugh, to love and to smile. I couldn’t wait to see what another full day would bring. Now, in contrast, I lay in bed while my mind ruminates over the trials to come. I think my younger self had the right idea for what it meant to live life fully. What we want to fill those days with however, is up to us. While I can imagine how amazing sky diving would be, it’s not something I’ve ever considered doing before.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

5 responses to “You Only Live “Your” Life Once”

  1. Pasduil says :

    Only you know what’s truly important to you, and what you will or won’t care about having done or not done when you look back on your life.

    For sure skydiving is not a priority for me. That’s putting it mildly in fact, it’s one of those things that might be enjoyable, even wonderful, but at the end of the day I’m really never going to care less whether I got around to or not.

    On the other hand, recently I watched the whole of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I saw quite a lot of the early seasons when it was first on, but missed lots of the later seasons for various reasons. Watching the rest of it was always on my list of things that I really wanted to do, but which I never got around to. That was more of a bucket list item for me than most of the usual things people put on such lists.

    Btw one thing you do find as you get older is that a lot of the things that really mattered to you when you were younger become pretty unimportant in retrospect, and whether you ever did them or not doesn’t mean very much any more.

    • wallcat says :

      I can imagine actually. Even now I feel like some of the things I use to care about no longer matter so much. I changed a lot after I met my partner and suddenly spending time with him meant more to me than all of the work I was doing. It’s also important to me to be able to experience as many books, games, films and art while I can still appreciate them. There are still places I’d like to go and see, but I don’t think I’d regret it if I never went sky diving. It isn’t something I’d ever really thought about. I haven’t watched Buffy the Vampire Slayer is ages. I think I missed a lot of the starting episodes but really got into it later on.

      • Pasduil says :

        I was a very keen on travel when I was younger. By now I’ve either been to the places I really really wanted to go, or I’ve stopped caring much about seeing them. Either way it’s not that much of a big deal to me now whether I went or didn’t go to most of them.

        What I do regret is things like not spending more time with my grandparents when they were still around

        The first three seasons of Buffy were my faves by the way. I’ve been rewatching Angel as well. I wasn’t that much into it first time around, but I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it this time.

      • wallcat says :

        I think not spending more time with certain family members while we can is a regret that many people share and understand. Unfortunately I wasn’t given enough opportunities to connect with some of my family, but I wish I had insisted on having that in my life. I never watched Angel, I guess because he wasn’t one of my preferred characters. May have to give it a go sometime. I think Buffy was better earlier on, although there was the odd episode I liked, like the one with the creepy floating men.

Leave a Reply

