Celebrate The Small Things: 10 July

wedding_roses2

I spent most of this week thinking about the game I’m working on. I had some A.I. bugs to sort out, but managed to find the solution eventually. I also found some time to do some baking and made my first ever batch of muffins, coconut and cherry. I’d bought some from a cafe that turned out to have very little flavour and was disappointing, so I took up the challenge to make some myself.

As I’m attending a wedding this weekend I attempted to create my own art work for the card as I wanted to do something special for them. I’ve been making final preparations for going such as getting my eyebrows threaded – ouch -, dying my hair and working out how to do it up – I love having an excuse to dress up. I’d ordered a fascinator a few weeks back to compliment my outfit, but due to postal strikes in Germany it didn’t seem like it was going to arrive on time. Luckily it arrived yesterday and it looks amazing.

There’s also a shop closing down near where I live. It’s a bit of a shame because it’s a really cool shop, but it did mean they were taking 75% off everything on top of other deals. I had a fun time looking around and managed to pick up 10 DVDs for a fiver – most of which are horror films. Speaking of horror, we spontaneously went to a late night showing of Insidious 3. That’s a bit of a treat for me because my partner and friends don’t like horror and so I can’t always convince somebody to come see these films at the cinema. I usually miss out and have to wait until they get released. It was very jumpy and a lot scarier than the 2nd film, but made me laugh at times too.

My partner had to go away for work this week and I’ve been missing him very much – as silly as that sounds, I mean it’s only a few days really. He came back last night and so I’m really looking forward to spending some time together and of course attending the wedding to come.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

11 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 10 July”

  1. Cathrina Constantine says :

    I like weddings so I can dress up too, and I love dancing!! Have fun!

    • wallcat says :

      I think a lot of people enjoy such occasions so they can have an excuse to dress their best and get photos of the whole family looking smart together. It was a really nice day and the weather lovely and warm too.

  2. Marilyn Parel (@mparel) says :

    Creating games and beautiful art. You’re really talented. Have a good weekend.

  3. lexacain says :

    What a great week you’ve had with the fascinator arrival, un-bugging your game, making muffins, rockin’ some cheap disks, going to a horror movie (woohoo!) and the absence and return of your sweetie. I hope the coming week is just as good. 🙂

  4. M.R.R. says :

    Sounds like a good week. Too bad about the store closing down, but those going-out-of-business deals are great.

    • wallcat says :

      I do have a lot of fun rumaging through the sales. I love it when book shops allow you to pay for a bag and then you’re free to fill it with what you want.

  5. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    Is the artwork at the top of the post what you created for the wedding card? It’s beautiful. As much as I hate to see shops close, I do like to see the great deals they have. That’s great that you solved some of your computer game issues, and I bet those muffins were tasty. Hope you had fun at the wedding. I have to ask — what is a fascinator? Have a great week!

    • wallcat says :

      Yeah it is. Thank you very much. The wedding was great and we had a wonderful day for it. Got to have drinks while sat in a beautiful garden. A fascinator is a small decoration people wear in their hair. A lot of them are neatly arranged flowers.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Celebrate The Small Things: 14 August | My Inner Geek - August 14, 2015

Leave a Reply

