Celebrate The Small Things: 14 August

This week has gone quickly, I feel like I’ve had more energy and motivation than usual. Been making bits of progress here and there which is always a good thing. I was messing about with a few level designs in the game prototype I’ve built and I’ve had a few more ideas. It’s definitely paying off to take my time on it as it’s giving me longer to allow ideas to blossom. I’m really bad for always finding new stuff to do, which is why it can end up taking a lot longer than it should, but I really hope to get my ideas written up properly soon and to also ask my friends for feedback. I’m also happy so long as I continue to make a little bit of progress each week.

I got some shopping sorted out. Birthdays are coming up and I needed to figure out what to get people. I don’t always enjoy having to go shopping, but it didn’t turn out to be too difficult or time consuming to choose what to get. I’m looking forward to getting them wrapped and handing them over, seeing the look on their face. The wedding photos taken by the professional photographer a few weeks back have also finally been made available; just browsing through them now and they look wonderful.

My boyfriend and I also finally decided to take the plunge into Diablo III (it’s a game I’ve been intending to play for years now and yet for some reason never got around to it.) He also treated me to a Chess course, which was reduced in price. I understand the rules of Chess, but I’ve always wanted to learn how to play properly and well (I also think he’s hoping that we can enjoy playing Chess together more, but I think he’ll regret it once I get better :P.) It’s a fun thing for me to do on the side at my own pace whenever I fancy a break from everything else. Had a bit of time to do some baking too and attempted a second Battenberg cake. I had a proper tin for it this time, which made life a lot easier. I’m still not entirely happy with how the assembly went however. I’m improving and plan to try again next week. I don’t think people mind having extra cake to eat anyway.

For the most part I’m glad the week is over because I’m incredibly looking forward to this weekend. It’s comic-con again and my friends and I have a few things planned – I’ve been saving my birthday money for this moment just in case. Should be fun!

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

8 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 14 August”

  1. laralacombe says :

    Have fun at comic-con! Those are always a good time 🙂

  2. lexacain says :

    It’s wonderful that your gaming design is coming along so well. I know just what you mean about taking your time. Sometimes I stop completely on my WIP, but it’s so that new ideas have time to percolate to the surface. Even if it slows me down, the results are always worth it. Wishing you a great time at comic-con!

    • wallcat says :

      Yeah exactly. Sometimes I feel pressured to get things done quickly because people keep asking me how it’s going, only this results in me rushing and feeling unhappy with my work. I’ve found that if I give myself some time to work on a rough copy ideas will slowly bubble to the surface. Had a great time thanks.

  3. M.R.R. says :

    Shopping for people can be a pain, so it’s great things went smoothly. Hope comic-con is fun.

    • wallcat says :

      Yeah, sometimes you just can’t decide what to get people and so it takes ages picking something out. It was a lot of fun thanks. Accidentally spent too much and feeling a bit tired today though.

  4. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    Absolutely, no one ever minds extra cake. 🙂 Sounds like you had a good week. Glad comic-con was fun. Hope this week is going equally well!

Leave a Reply

