Celebrate The Small Things: 21 August

Had a wonderful time at comic-con over the weekend. Spent a good bit of time hanging out with friends – got the chance to meet a couple of new friendly people too. I treated myself to a few things: the ps1 game King’s Field (a From Software game) and a signed set of the book series Ruin by Samsun Lobe (epic fantasy.) I also got to see Christopher Judge again (Teal’c from Stargate.)

My boyfriend knows somebody at work who has an idea for a really simple tapping game, but doesn’t have the time to build it. It’s going to take a little bit of time away from my other project, but I’ve agreed to have a go as it should be easy and fairly quick to put together. Apparently a few people are interested in seeing this and it can be fairly exciting working on something that you know others will be happy to see.

I made a couple of Battenberg cakes this week. The first was a plain one for practice and this time I was very happy with how it turned out. The second was a birthday cake for my friend. Turns out Battenberg is his favourite. I put together a cinnamon and apple one that turned out to be a delicious combination of flavours. I put a marzipan Corgi on top too (one of his favourite animals.) I basically had a lot of fun with it and he seemed to really appreciate it,

I’ve been getting a decent bit of me time this week and will continue to have some next week. Sometimes I need the space to be able to focus on what’s important to me and to recuperate. The weather has been lovely and warm too.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Tags: , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

15 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 21 August”

  1. Sharon Marie Himsl says :

    Those cakes sound yummy 🙂

  2. eclecticalli says :

    Sounds like a busy and fun time!
    Hmm.. cakes…. 🙂

    • wallcat says :

      Yeah, I’ve been recuperating this weekend, but I enjoy being busy sometimes. The problem with baking is that you end up eating too much cake (if that’s even possible) lol.

  3. lexacain says :

    I don’t know what a Battenberg cake is but I’m amazed about the marzipan corgi. Wow, that sounds difficult to make. I’m sure he appreciated it. Yay for having a good time at the con and for willing to help a friend design a game. Have a lovely weekend!

  4. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    “Me” time is always nice. Glad you had fun at the comic-con. What is a Battenberg cake? Did you take any photos? I love apple cinnamon flavor. It’s one of my favorite combinations. Have fun building the new game!

  5. nissa_loves_cats says :

    Comic-con— wow, some people have better weekends than I do. I had never heard of a Battenberg cake. Which is just as well as I should not be eating cake any more anyway so don’t need new temptations.

    • wallcat says :

      Yes, if you want to avoid temptation it’ll do you well to aoid the Battenberg. I’m not busy every weekend, although I do like to try to fit a lot of fun things in. I bet your weekends are perfect at they are.

  6. M.R.R. says :

    All sounds pretty great.

  7. lgkeltner says :

    Comic-con and cake! That sounds like the recipe for an amazing week!

Leave a Reply

