The Creative Mind

There are a few creative people in my family with an interest in subjects such as art and photography. As such, I always felt like I was encouraged to be creative too, even though I later realized I had a strong interest in computers. When I studied game programming I found that it was actually quite rare to come from such a background and most of the people I talked to were better at subjects like Maths and Science. When they noticed that I was able to create decent looking sprites to put in my games they would comment on how creative I was. One of my closest friends would always put himself down, claiming that he just wasn’t capable of being creative. I always remember one of the things I learnt as a kid from a book about drawing animals, that you should never say you can’t, but that you’re learning. I believe that we restrict ourselves by forming such strong beliefs of what we’re not capable of. As such I would try to encourage my friend whenever it was required of us to do something more creative.

A lot of people seem to link creativity to skills such as painting or writing, but it’s actually beneficial in other areas too. To be creative is to be able to generate lots of ideas and then eventually hone in on a solution to a problem. Creativity isn’t a talent, but something that all people can posses. People that are considered to be creative however, tend to be more curious and inquisitive in nature. According to The Bedside Book Of Psychology by Christian Jarrett and Joannah Ginsburg (Cognition, creativity, p 64-65) people that rank high on intelligence test are usually less creative because it requires a different mindset.

There are two ways of thinking referred to as convergent and divergent (or lateral thinking.) To think in a convergent way is to be able to remove all distractions and hone in on the right answer. To think in a divergent way is to be able to absorb more information and process lots of ideas at once, even though many of them may be wrong. Creative people usually find it easier to switch to the divergent style of thinking and have less strict filters for incoming information. To be creative it’s important not to fear failure as the stress and anxiety caused by this prevents us from being able to explore lots of ideas. The more ideas we can work through the more likely we will be to find the best solution, but we have to be willing to make mistakes along the way.

In the brilliant talk by John Cleese on Creativity, he refers to the two different states as being open and closed. In the closed state we tend to be under pressure or tight constraints to get a lot done. Everything we do must be purposeful and creativity is impossible. In the open state we are relaxed and playful; Not everything we do has to be purposeful, but that’s integral to our exploration. It’s usually most beneficial to be able to switch between the states, being open at the start and then closed when the work needs to get done.

I remember I watched this program once where they broke the creative process down into different stages – It was a while ago so i don’t remember what it was called. I tried looking this up, but there are many different versions of it. However, there seems to be three main stages: Preparation, Incubation and Insight. During the preparation stage lots of different ideas are explored. The Incubation period happens after you’ve stopped thinking about it, but your subconscious continues to work on the problem; That’s when you have that moment when for no reason you have a realization about something. The Insight is the ‘Eureka’ moment. We usually only share stories about the moment of insight, giving the impression that creativity is something that happens effortlessly. In truth, creative people usually put lots of work in behind the scenes that lead to the final product, such as an artist’s sketchbook, a designer’s prototype or a writer’s journal. I think for this reason, creative people are sometimes represented as lazily sitting around waiting for an idea to pop into their heads. I’ve also found that many seem to erroneously consider subjects such as design to be easier and it’s often misunderstood what’s involved.

So to be more creative it seems that it’s important to relax and give yourself time to play, while allowing yourself to make silly mistakes and to iterate through lots of ideas. Many of us have the urge to edit and perfect as we go along, but this slows us down in our exploration. I remember when I did my creative writing course, it was advised to write a lot and edit later, but I found it really difficult not to hesitate after each sentence. It’s also a good idea to be open minded to new things that could inspire you. I remember hearing once that if all you ever did was study your own subject area it’d grow at a slower rate. For instance, if game designers only took inspiration from other games and not experiences we’d see a lot of the same regurgitated ideas. I think a lot of writers also find it helps to write about stuff that they’ve actually experienced themselves because they can put in more detail for how it felt. People come up with ideas all the time, but then never act upon them, so it’s also important to know how to listen for them and to write them down.

As for my friend, we later realized that he was in fact capable of being creative, he just didn’t come up with the same sort of ideas that I did due to his different background. We worked on a game together that allowed us to bring both of our strengths to the table. Some of his contributions were really good and in areas that I would have personally overlooked. As well as this, we recently talked about his love of games like Minecraft; I enjoy these games more for what cool looking things I can build, while he prefers to mess about with mods and put together elaborate machinery – we realized that this is his own way of being creative.

Related Links:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

5 responses to “The Creative Mind”

  1. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    Very interesting. It’s definitely true, at least in my case, that you have to be relaxed and at ease to be creative. I can’t write well at all if I’m stressed or rushed or upset. And I think it’s incredibly important to have time to play, particularly for kids. They need time to let their imaginations grow and ideas blossom, which can’t happen if every minute of their day is structured. They need that free time. We all do.

    • wallcat says :

      It seems that we lose some of our playfulness as we get older. I remember as a kid I wasn’t afraid to try my hands at anything, but I’m a lot more coy now. I do feel like it has had a negative impact on my creativity and hope to learn how to relax into it again. I prefer not to work when I’m upset because I don’t want to associate my creations with those negative emotions. I agree, it’s especially important for kids to be able to let their imaginations blossom and some of my fondest memories are of times when I was free to explore my own ideas.

Leave a Reply

