Celebrate The Small Things: 11 September

I’ve been struggling over the past couple of weeks with a mild lingering bladder infection, which is obviously not a very pleasant problem to have. I don’t really like having to go to the doctor, but I eventually decided I had no choice and got some antibiotics that have helped a lot. I was feeling really run down with it, but now I’m a lot more optimistic. I’ve also learnt a lot about how to prevent this in the future (sometimes we need to go through something to learn about it,) such as to drink lots of cranberry juice – I happen to really like it anyway.

I decided to go out for a walk to the shops today as the weather was warm and clear (it seems to be changeable between that and cold at the moment.) I’ve been noticing these adult mindful colouring books being sold in a lot of places recently and they seem to be really popular. I wasn’t sure If I should get one – I feel a bit silly considering that I spend a lot of my time drawing anyway – but I loved colouring books as a kid and some of the pictures in them are amazing. This woman noticed me looking at them and started talking to me about how much she loved them herself, convincing me to treat myself to one (not that they cost much anyway.) It’s really cool that us adults can now get back into colouring-in again. It always puts a smile on my face when I bump into friendly people too, especially when they just want to offer a cheery ‘hello’ and share what they’re passionate about. A lot of us are too shy to approach people that we don’t know, even if they appear to have something in common with us that we’d love to talk to them about.

I also nipped out to the pub with my friends for a bit this week and we are going to make plans to meet up again next week. It was nice that they arranged something so soon because I really hadn’t felt well enough to go out the week before. I think I really needed the fresh air and something to take my mind off how down I’d been feeling. A few of us decided to have Pokemon battles and I had a go even though I haven’t finished training my team yet (in truth I just wanted to show off my two shinies.) I actually turned a battle around and won it to everyone’s surprise.

I finally got around to finishing off my Smuggler in Star Wars The Old Republic. I now only have two classes left to go, but I think I’ll be hard-pressed to get them both done before the boosted experience runs out. I’m getting distracted too easily by other games I’d like to play. As well as this I also finally finished the second book in the Song of Ice and Fire series. I thought it was a bit slow at first, but picked up at the end. A lot happened and it was really exciting.

I haven’t been sleeping very well and I’m feeling really tired today. Ah well, it’s a Friday at least. Planning to put my feet up and relax… maybe even do some colouring-in :).

f5f01-vik-smallthings2Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

12 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 11 September”

  1. Aura Eadon says :

    Cranberry juice… just can’t stand it for some reason. Do raw raspberries count? I’m glad you’re feeling better and I didn’t know about the colouring books, it’s been forever since I did that. I have to say that my favourites have always been the “connect the dot” games. The more complex the better. I think my mind works in the same way, that’s probably why. 😀

    It’s Fridaaaay, happy Friday, have a lovely weekend. 😀

    • wallcat says :

      Lol, I use to hate Cranberry juice, but for some reason its really grown on me over the past year. I use to do connect the dot ones too. My grandparents use to treat us to a lot of activity books filled with things like colouring in and dot-to-dots so I have some very fond memories of doing them. Hope you’re enjoying your weekend!

  2. Patricia says :

    I was looking at coloring books today. Now isn’t the time for me to get one as I make most of the Christmas gifts I give and just got started on them last week. Something to look forward to in January. Hope the meds have you feeling fine without delay.

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks, I’m feeling a lot better now thankfully. Making your own Christmas gifts sounds like fun. I wish I had more time to do things like that. Although sometimes I create my own images for Christmas cards.

      • Patricia says :

        I have to carve out time to do it. There is always something that doesn’t get done until after Christmas.

      • wallcat says :

        I usually don’t realize until it’s too late. One week to go and I suddenly get a cool idea for something I could make for someone; just wishing I had more time to do it in. Maybe I should start thinking about it now.

  3. Stephanie Faris says :

    Did you say adult coloring books are in? I LOVE coloring! It’s very relaxing.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  4. M.R.R. says :

    Sounds like a good week (except for the infection, but at least that’s taken care of).

  5. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    Glad you’re feeling better! I love those adult coloring books. I used to buy those b & w poster and marker sets to color when I was younger. I always found it to be therapeutic. I still have some that I haven’t done yet. Maybe someday I’ll get back to them. Congrats on your gaming success. My son loves Pokémon battles, too. Hope you’re having a good week!

Leave a Reply

