Celebrate The Small Things: 18 September

Since I’ve been feeling a lot better recently I’ve been making more progress on the game prototype. I’ve actually just about finished it and need to add a few menus and fix some bugs before I’m ready to get some feedback. This is the one that is based on another person’s idea, and they intend to help in promoting it afterwards. It’s a really simple tapping game, but that’s also why I can spend more time on making sure that everything is put together as well as I can. I also made a list of ideas and it’s surprising to find that even with simple mechanics you can still think of a lot of different ways to implement it. My excitement to start a new project use to cause me to jump into ideas very quickly and needless to say they didn’t always turn out well, hence why I’m now considering the process as one where I refine it over time. I’m experimenting and discovering different ways to implement parts of the game.

I’ve also discovered a couple of interesting courses on Future Learn Mindfulness For Wellbeing and Peak Performance and Logical And Critical Thinking. The mindfulness one started this week and I’ve been taking the time to meditate a couple of times a day. It seems to be helping slightly with becoming more relaxed and sleeping better. I have a book on mindfulness too and it seems like a really interesting area.

I watched the final episode of Under The The Dome (based on a Stephen King book) – it’s finally concluded, yay! I really enjoyed the show at first, but then it felt like they were dragging it on a bit. Like a lot of shows, I enjoy the mystery behind them, but can lose interest later on if it goes on for too long without any answers. I told myself it’d be the last time I’d watch a series of the dome, and it’s turned out to be the final one. I also watched the entire first series of Digimon as we discovered the whole lot is available on Amazon Prime. I know it’s a kids show, but it’s actually better than I remember it being and has gotten me looking back to the games based on it. My boyfriend got me a copy of the old PS1 game Digimon World. Oooh, and I also got a pre-purchase of SOMA by Frictional games. I’ve been looking forward to this one for a good while now – I’m 3 parts excited and 1 part terrified.

Another thing to look forward to: Our shower broke and I’ve had to make do with this rubbish one that you attach to the taps. A guy came round to check it this week and told us that we needed a new one, but they’re not as expensive as we thought and will include free fitting, so could be worse. Here’s hoping that we’ll have a new shower sorted out over the next couple of weeks.

Oh, and I’ve just been informed that apparently I’ve written 200 posts on this blog.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

8 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 18 September”

  1. Claudia H. Blanton says :

    both the game and the course you are taking sound interesting. Not sure I would have the time or the discipline to meditate twice a day, I am working on once a day – but good for you! Blessings and have a nice week!

    • wallcat says :

      I’ve tried to keep up with meditation in the past, but struggled to keep up with it regularly. I figured it might be interesting to try it during the course at least, to see if I feel any better afterwards. Thanks, enjoy your week.

  2. Aura Eadon says :

    Woohoo congratulations on the game and I suggest you take your time to sleep over ideas. Perhaps you could create quick and dirty prototypes and get a feeling how your ideas pan out in terms of gameplay and then focus on the most promising?

    Wow 2 times a day meditation. I am trying to find time to read. I think over the years I have converted driving and walking time to meditation time. Life is just too hectic right now. 😀

    I hope you have a brilliant and creative weekend full of amazing game ideas.

    • wallcat says :

      Thank you very much. I will make sure to take my time on it. I often find my best ideas don’t come to me before I start working on a project, but during. Ideas seem to need that extra time to blossom.

      It was my goal this year to fit more reading time in. I still don’t manage to read every day, but I’m a lot more consistent than I use to be. It’s very difficult to fit things in when life is really busy, but sometimes you have to try and find the time for the sake of your own wellbeing. I hope you’re managing to have lots of fun you time as well. Have an amazing weekend too! 😀

  3. Kate Larkindale (@Vampyr14) says :

    Wow! Twice daily meditation. I barely have time to eat twice a day, let alone meditate…. But I do find time to read every day, so I guess it’s all about priorities, right?

    • wallcat says :

      Yeah, if you lead a busy life I think you need to prioritize so that you can at least do all of the things that matter most to you. Most of the people I know don’t have the time to read at all, but I can’t imagine never reading.

  4. Cathrina Constantine says :

    Happy 200!!!!! Have a nice weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

