Celebrate The Small Things: 9 October

I’ve been settling back home after my holiday. I had a lovely time away and after the initial shock of returning I’ve had an extra spring in my step. I’ve been doing a little bit of programming and art this week, and also worked on my colouring book while listening to relaxing music – wanting to keep that chilled out holiday feeling. Although, rather in contrast to this, one thing I was looking forward to getting back to was being able to give Frictional Games’ SOMA a go. I’m not finding it too scary, but I’m not disappointed with it. I’m actually quite impressed by the level of detail in there. It’s not much longer till Halloween, and I’m getting into that horror game mood again. I also found a collectors edition guide for Diablo 3 for just £5. I usually only get guides for games I’m really fond of – just as a collector – but I’ve been playing Diablo recently and that seemed like a really good price.

I had a lovely and unexpected surprise the other day. Some mail arrived from another country and I was confused as to why I’d be getting anything from there. Turned out to be a letter from a pen pal I had 10 years ago. Apparently they kept all of my letters and had included a photocopy of one. That was a bizarre blast from the past and it sort of made me cringe to see how much I’ve changed. It use to mean a lot to me to be able to write those letters because I struggled to find like minded people or to connect with others when I was younger – well I still do a little in all honesty. It’s pretty flattering that they’ve remembered me after all this time and I can’t wait to write back.

I finished another book from the A Song Of Ice And Fire series while I was away. Two more to go.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

8 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 9 October”

  1. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    That’s so neat about the reappearance of your pen pal. It’s great to rekindle old friendships. Sounds like you got a great deal on that guidebook. Keep on chilling out. Enjoy your weekend!

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. It was a really nice surprise and just goes to show new or rekindled friendships can always crop even, even when you’re least expecting it to. Will do, make sure you get some chill out time too. Have a nice week.

  2. Aura Eadon says :

    Oh a holiday. I so need a holiday. One day. Anyway, Diablo 3 is awesome. Even though I don’t touch it these days I did play a lot. How’s your game going?

    • wallcat says :

      I’m a bit of a late comer to Diablo, but it kept getting recommended to me. It is a really fun game. It’s moving forward. I’m settling back into working on my game again after the holiday. No massive leaps forward or anything, but I’m happy so long as I continue to make a little progress each week. Thanks.

  3. lexacain says :

    October is definitely the month to break out the horror games! I’m glad your holiday went well and that you got something for your gamer’s collection. I think all of us feel we need to “belong” when we’re young and perhaps have ideals that we’ll find the perfect fit. Time and experience changes us and we realize we’re perfect the way we are because we are simply ourselves. Enjoy your horror games and the books!

    • wallcat says :

      Very well said. As I’ve gotten older I’ve found myself able to get along with a wider variety of people without also sacrificing who I am as an individual. Thanks, I will do. Enjoy your week.

  4. M.R.R. says :

    Have fun getting reconnecting with your pen pal.

Leave a Reply

