Celebrate The Small Things: 16 October

A while ago I tried to play this game that crashed up and ever since my computer hadn’t been working right. I was getting freezes, more crashes and last week it went to blue screen. It was still usable, but causing me a lot of stress. I’d been putting off reinstalling my operating system just because of the hassle of getting my software set up again and then I figured I might as well get a new hard drive at the same time. Well I finally got around to it over the weekend, backed up all of my files and put in a SSD. Its fixed everything and my computer feels like it’s running a lot faster now. Some of my games were actually unplayable before due to graphics glitches and now they’re running with no problems whatsoever. Still getting my software and files sorted out, but I’m glad to finally have a fully working computer again. My phone was also getting old and starting to frustrate me, so I got that sorted too. Yay, no more tech issues for the time-being.

Even with setting my computer back up I managed to find some time to work on my game prototype and I think I can finally say I’m done with this one at least. I just need to get Android SDK set up again so I can make an APK and then get some feedback from the guy I’m doing this for.

It’s also Pizza month so we treated ourselves to a takeaway – yeah, any excuse.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

13 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 16 October”

  1. Tonja Drecker says :

    Yay to pizza! And great for getting your computer worked out. That’s always such a pain.

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. Unfortunately it’s something you have to deal with every once in a while, but getting stuff set up always feels like a bit of a hassle. I just want to be able to get on with the things that I got the computer for.

  2. Beverly (@Bevimus) says :

    Technology is downright magic when it works- and the single most maddening thing on the planet when it doesn’t. So glad you’re up and running again!

  3. Aura Eadon says :

    Oh the stress of computers going wrong. I feel your pain. SSDs will always do the trick. πŸ˜€

    Okay pizza, like, I love pizza. I also put on weight by thinking about delicious pizza. No meat (veggie girl me) but tonnes of veggies. And cheese. And tomato. O_O

    I shall now go an cry in the corner. Because I haven’t had pizza for a very long time. If I think about it and gain weight, imagine what will happen if I actually went and ate pizza… Disaster…

    Anyway, have a lovely weekend full of pizza and creativity and no stress whatsoever. πŸ˜€

    • wallcat says :

      Haha, maybe I did a bad thing mentioning the pizza. It’s one of my pleasures in life that I’m unwilling to cut back on. I’ve been told there are some pizza lovers out there trying to find a way to make them healthier, or so we can always hope. Thanks, have a nice week. πŸ˜€

  4. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    That’s great that you got your computer up and running better than ever. Tech issues make me crazy. I just want my computer to run. I don’t want to have to mess with it or fix it or anything like that.
    Ooh, pizza. I love pizza. We usually have it on Sunday nights. I didn’t know there was such a thing as pizza month. Sounds good to me. Have a great weekend!

    • wallcat says :

      I know. It’s a necessity sometimes, but I feel like I’m wasting my time if I’m prevented from just getting on with what I wanted the computer for in the first place. I hate setting up my dev tools and just want to get on with using them. I have pizza every week or so, but we do have a once a month takeaway rule. Enjoy your week!

  5. M.R.R. says :

    Nice to have technology working for now. And yum, pizza.

  6. lexacain says :

    Congrats on finishing the game you wrote and on solving your tech issues. You’re so brave. I need a new laptop so bad but re-doing all my software terrifies me! Pizza is something that never needs an excuse. πŸ˜‰

    • wallcat says :

      I hate having to re-install things, plus the stress of worrying about lost files. I’ve done it a few times, but it never gets any easier. Still, after a few weeks things seem to settle back into place again and it’s usually better for it. Good luck for when you decide to take that leap. True about the pizza lol.

Leave a Reply

