One Lovely Blog Award – Game Maker’s Edition

one-lovely-blog-awardI’ve been nominated for this award by KG of Taking Over The World With Games, to whom I’d like to say thank you very much. Please check out their blog and give them some support. This particular award is focussed on game makers. Admittedly I haven’t actually written much about any of the games I’ve made yet as I’m still working up the confidence to do so. Making a good game is actually really tough and intimidating, and so it’s great to see this kind of encouragement.

The rules are:

  • Link back to the blogger who nominated you
  • List the rules and display the award
  • Add 7 games that you loved
  • Nominate other game makers and let them know via a comment

7 Games I Loved

Dark Souls + Bloodborne

ds
I’m including these two together. I just love From Software games. For me personally, I feel like they’ve done so much right and they’re like a game designers dream. While other games might have flashier looking combat systems, none have engaged me like Dark Souls have. I think this is because variety is created through the environments and enemies. I haven’t played many games that encourage me to be more observant of my surroundings, but it can make a big difference in Dark Souls – picking a weapon that won’t bounce off the walls in confined spaces for example. I can’t watch anybody play these games without my hands twitching as I’m always eager to jump back in and have another go. Environmental story telling is pretty cool too.

Amnesia + SOMA

soma
I’ve come to realize recently that my favourite game developers tend to be more specialized, rather than trying to deliver on everything. As a result you end up with games that aren’t perfect overall, but very good where they are focussed. I follow Frictional Games a lot because obviously they’re excellent at putting together horror experiences. While I’ve played a few horror games, I can always tell the difference when I return back to Frictional Games. They seem to think more outside the box and put a lot of research into their narrative, so you know you’re guaranteed to get an interesting story out of it. They’re particularly good at audio design too – SOMA features over 2000 footstep sounds. Amnesia is special to me because it changed my gaming tastes slightly, but I can’t seem to stop thinking about SOMA – the sign that a game has left a profound effect on you.

Mass Effect

me
I first discovered Bioware when I played Knights Of The Old Republic and I was very impressed by it; It was my first time playing a game with so many choices in it, and it still has my favourite story twist yet. I didn’t actually realize right away that Mass Effect was by the same developer, picked it up cheap and installed it just to pass the time by until Dragon Age came out. Found that I absolutely loved it and couldn’t tear myself away. It was unusual to be able to take the same character through each game and I ended up developing a massive attachment to them. I enjoy the gameplay, but I’d say the character design is this games strongest point. I really cared for my team.

Primal

primal
This was a game for the PS2, in which you could switch between two characters to solve puzzles – it seemed quite unique at the time. The main character also has the ability to change forms in what was an incredibly cool transformation sequence. I loved the Gothic edge to this game and Jen has remained my favourite gaming heroine since. Just an all round solid action-adventure game. I also enjoyed Ghosthunter by the same developers, which came out shortly after.

Grim Fandango

grim
I played a lot of point and click games when I was younger, but Grim Fandango is the one that I have the fondest memories of. I wasn’t sure at first as that scene in the land of the living was really weird, but I came to love the quirkiness of it. The humour and dialogue was amazing. When I first mentioned this game to my friends I was a little surprised to find that none of them had heard of it, although of course this has changed since the release of the remastered version. I’m not sure how well known it was at the time, although it did feel like a bit of a random find. We use to give all sorts of games a go, and so I’ve always remembered that it’s worth foraging because you never know if you’re going to come across a rare gem.

Creatures 2

creatures
This is probably one of my most played games from childhood – software toy is probably a more accurate name for this however. In this game you could hatch, teach and raise creatures. It was incredibly complicated despite what its cutesy appearance would have you believe, for example you could fire neurons, inject them with chemical and splice different creatures together – I’m not saying it was a kind thing to do. The world was really cool and fun to explore. There was a great community around it too, and you could share your creature files or get mods. Unfortunately, I think it was a bit too advanced for the time as it also came with its fair share of frustrations. I haven’t come across another game like this since however, and so I always like to make sure I have a working copy of it.

Curse Of Enchantia

curse
I didn’t grow up with games Like Zelda or Mario, so I don’t seem to share a lot of the nostalgia that others have. I feel it for games like Curse of Enchantia, an adventure game on the Commodore Amiga in which you have to solve puzzles to overcome a coven of witches. There were so many great and random moments in this game that our family still loves to talk about it after all this time. “Remember when we got stuck in that cave, and had to make a mud mask so that a monster would mistake us for being one of its own and reel us out… Or that time we had to sneak up and set that guys foot on fire.” This game captured my imagination, giving me my love for fantasy and a sense of adventure.

Nominated Game Makers

I’ve already nominated a fair few blogs through other awards, so I’m going to say that if you’re a game maker reading my blog then consider yourself nominated. Best of luck with whatever projects you’re currently working on.

Tags: , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

2 responses to “One Lovely Blog Award – Game Maker’s Edition”

  1. KG says :

    Hi! Thanks for responding and accepting the nomination. 🙂 I haven’t known of Primal, Grim Fandango, Creatures 2 and Curse of Enchantia before. It was great to read about the experiences that you had with these titles, some of which were even personal and nostalgic. I hope you’ll keep up your persistence in making games.

    • wallcat says :

      I wanted to put a mix on, including some older games; I guess those are the ones that first inspired me to want to build games afterall. Thanks, you too!

Leave a Reply

