Celebrate The Small Things: 30 October

I went to a beat ’em up tournament over the weekend. As a spectator, not to play – I haven’t actually played a beat em’ up in ages. It was a new experience and allowed me to put some names to faces. While it had that fun competitive edge to it, everybody was incredibly polite. Afterwards I hung out with a few friends at the pub. I think I might have settled some of my differences with somebody. Actually, we really got talking about horror games, which is great because most of my friends don’t get them. (Oh, speaking of which, I finally got myself a copy of Alien Isolation.) We went to the card game shop too and played a few later on. I’d been drinking mead – purely medicinal – so my head wasn’t as clear as it could have been, but I won Citadels, yay!

This week has been a bit up and down really. I’ve been dealing with a really bad cold, and it’s giving me constant headaches and rather oddly dizziness. As a result I’ve been doing things at a slower pace, but I still managed to get some art and a little bit of programming done. I’m feeling a lot better today anyway, thankfully in time for Halloween. I’m really excited because we’re starting Until Dawn tonight – my boyfriend made me wait – and we also have plans to go out tomorrow. I have the excuse to dress up like a cat.

We did plan to see Jurassic World in 4D – you have to pre-book because of limited places – but everywhere was jammed and we couldn’t get parked, so we missed it. I was really disappointed, but it seems to be an increasing issue these days. Making plans outside the house feels like a gamble as to whether or not you’re going to get there, even if you set off early with the best intentions. However, despite the tickets saying they were non-refundable they were actually really cool about it and gave us our money back in full. I guess they’re use to dealing with this; A few others have told me that they also missed showings on that day due to how busy it was. It’s not the first time its happened to us either. We can always try again another week now though.

I finally got around to playing Life Is Strange. My friends been on at me about this for a while now. It was a really interesting story about a girl that could time travel. Felt a little emotional at the end.

Happy Halloween!

f5f01-vik-smallthings2Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

4 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 30 October”

  1. Tonja Drecker says :

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better. . .and just in time too! Enjoy your Halloween (and it sounds like you will)

  2. lexacain says :

    Wow are you busy, and with being sick too. I sure hope you recover enough to enjoy your time out tomorrow. Happy Halloween! 🙂

Leave a Reply

