Fostering The Cosplay Community In Ohio

As a geek I’ve spent much of my life searching for that ever elusive sense of belonging. While I realize now that my expectations might have been putting further strain on my ability to connect with others, to feel like we are a part of something can be an incredibly positive thing in our lives. Through a community we can feel valued and gain the support we need. I guess there’s a reason for why we try to seek out that feeling.

A while back I befriended another blogger, the owner of Fireside Chats. We started to share comments at a time when I was feeling down, and his words helped me to pick myself back up again. He also has a passion for community, and dreams of creating a place for theatre and comic culture. His drive and commitment towards this goal is inspiring, the result of which will be Drake Enterprises, situated in Ohio. If he can go ahead with these plans I imagine he’ll be able to help many more people to feel supported.

The aim of Drake Enterprises is to bring together a community that can provide opportunities to fans of theatre and cosplay. He hopes to do this in a number of different ways, such as offering services, courses and experience to college students. It’ll also be beneficial for school theatre programs by offering them a more affordable way to acquire costumes, props and sets. As well as this he’d like to foster the local cosplay community by providing them with a place to meet up in a safe and friendly way. He wants to ensure that nobody feels left out despite their circumstances.

This could be a great oppertunity for cosplay fans of Ohio searching for a way to connect and belong. To succeed however, Drake Enterprises requires a little help to get off the ground; On Halloween he launched a campaign on Gofundme. Check it out at https://www.gofundme.com/DrakeEnterprises to find out more.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

Leave a Reply

