Celebrate The Small Things: 6 November

I had a fun Halloween. Spent the day at the pub with this large group of like-minded people that meet up monthly. My first time coming along, but everybody seemed to be friendly and welcoming. They had a quiz, which we won. I suck at quizzes and never usually win. The prize included a box of chocolates. When we got back we stayed up to finish Until Dawn. I was really impressed by how this game looks; Getting to a point where I think the gore in games might actually start to bother me. I did really enjoy it though. No we didn’t manage to save everybody.

I’m still recovering from, I don’t know what it is. I thought it was a cold but this is the 3rd week and it gets worse on the weekends. Starting to wonder if I have an allergy to something that I’m going to have to figure out. I did get really itchy eyes, but my cough is being persistent. Anyway, I decided to use this as an excuse to skip the gym this week and spend more time working on other things. I got another couple of game prototypes finished and have almost done a 3rd one. I think its been really good for me to do a smaller project in this way, as normally I get too enthusiastic and jump into overly complicated projects that don’t turn out too great. This is allowing me to practice the different stages of development and I’m getting better at the fail faster approach. There were a few things I’ve had to balance out, but I think I’ve finally managed to find a solution to all of the issues I was having. As well as this I also got WordPress to work locally on my computer. I know I’ve done it before and then got distracted, but I’m really keen to learn how to create my own themes. I’m definitely feeling a bit different in myself, like more motivated than usual. Although I’m ready for the weekend. :).

f5f01-vik-smallthings2Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

8 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 6 November”

  1. Tonja Drecker (@TDrecker) says :

    Take that more motivation and hold on to it as long as possible. Hope the cold decides to move on soon. Have a great weekend!

  2. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    I had to laugh because when I first read the sentence about Until Dawn, I thought it meant you stayed up until dawn to finish the box of chocolates. I thought wow, that was one big box of chocolates!

    Anyway, it’s great that you had a fun Halloween and you’re making progress on your games. Hope your cold/allergy/whatever-it-is goes away soon! Enjoy your weekend!

  3. lexacain says :

    It sounds to me you may have an allergy. Sometimes we become allergic to new things as we get older. Take some anti-histamines or benadryl and see if that helps. Congrats on winning the choc! Gore for the sake of gore rarely works. It’s the story that pulls you through, and I think that’s the same with both writing and gaming. Hope you feel better soon!

    • wallcat says :

      Yeah, I agree. I prefer psychological horror to the more gruesome stuff, unless it’s somehow relevant. Thanks, it is odd how this illness seems to be ongoing and gets worse every weekend when I go out. I’ll have to try that and then I can know for sure.

  4. Cherdo says :

    Everybody and their brother is sick this week! I have a homeschool cooperative and whole families have gotten some kind of creeping crud. Get better soon, dear! Rest, relax, fluids, Tylenol…you know the deal.

    Hope you’re feeling better soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

