Celebrate The Small Things: 20 November

I got a new monitor to hook my computer and consoles up to. I couldn’t reach the higher resolutions before, and it looks awesome. Went to a retro game fair as well. It was kind of small and not very exciting, but I bought a copy of the PS1 game Fade To Black, which we had sold when I was younger. It wasn’t a great game, but nostalgia.

The main thing that I got sorted this week was to go to the opticians and finally get myself some glasses. I’m short sighted and have been needing them for a long time, but one of the struggles I have with anxiety is that I end up putting off things to do with my health and well being. Besides, I had a pretty bad experience with them as a kid and so for me it can feel worse than going to the dentist even. They were actually very friendly and I’m relieved – as is usually the case – to have finally gone for it. I’m looking forward to getting my glasses and having clearer vision. Perhaps I’ll appreciate my new monitor more this way.

Had a catch up at the pub last night. That was fun, and another good test for my attempts to be more mindful. As much as I enjoy hanging out, I find that a lot of social stimulation is something that can put my mind into overdrive. I felt a lot calmer in myself though. Made more of an effort to listen to what people had to say rather than fighting to get heard and it did feel a lot better.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2
Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When Iā€™m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

10 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 20 November”

  1. lexacain says :

    It’s amazing how old music or games can take us right back to out childhood and appreciation of simpler times and innocent happiness. Good for your strides on being mindful and how it’s helping you cope. Have a lovely weekend! šŸ™‚

  2. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    That new monitor sounds nice! I tend to put off that sort of thing, too, mainly because I just don’t want to bother with it. I had to wear glasses in junior high school and hated it. Then I got contact lenses. I absolutely loved them. They were so much better than glasses. But now my eyes have changed, and I’ve had to go back to glasses. I still don’t like them, but I need them for distance so I’m stuck with them. And I do appreciate being able to see clearly. It’s great that the pub outing was more enjoyable and relaxing for you. Sounds like whatever you’re doing is working. Enjoy your weekend!

    • wallcat says :

      Yeah, I don’t much like the hassle of having to be somewhere either. I had glasses as a kid and found them really uncomfortable to wear ā€“ plus they made my eyesight worse ā€“ but they insisted I wear them. Once I could get out of wearing them I made the most of it. Unfortunately I’m short sighted enough that I should be wearing them all the time, and it’ll take some getting use to. Perhaps I could try contact lenses, but it’s the thought of putting things in my eye, lol. Still, I know it’ll make life a little easier so I guess you just have to deal with it sometimes. Enjoy your week!

      • Lori L MacLaughlin says :

        After a bit of practice, I found it easy to put the lenses in and take them out. I can say it was definitely worth it. It was like having perfect vision without glasses. I so wish I could still wear them. I really miss them.

      • wallcat says :

        I can imagine that’d be really awesome; I might consider trying contacts eventually, as I’m not finding glasses to be comfortable to wear over long periods. It’s a much bigger adjustment if you’ve gone for years without mind. It’s a shame you can’t wear contacts anymore.

  3. Kate Larkindale (@Vampyr14) says :

    Yay for new glasses and being able to see properly! I remember getting my first pair and being overwhelmed at how well I could see. I had no idea other people saw so much more than I did…

    • wallcat says :

      Haha yeah. It’s weird. People kept telling me they couldn’t understand how I could handle it, but I didn’t know any better. Then you try some and it’s like, wow is this how I’m suppose to see? Taking some getting use to, but I’m looking forward to going out and enjoying things in a sharper focus.

  4. M.R.R. says :

    Have fun with playing games with your new monitor.

Leave a Reply

