Celebrate The Small Things: 18 December

ZIA_Cat_small

I’m having one those weeks. Started off with great intentions, and then things went wrong very quickly. I was fine one moment and then the next I was on the floor in agony, unable to move. I’d been feeling dizzy prior and think It might have been a case of Sciatica. It’s ok though because the worst part cleared up after the first day and now I just have a bit of stiffness. Unfortunately, sitting at my computer for too long seems to aggravate the problem, but I’ve been using this as an excuse to lay down with a few Christmas films. I know of a few people that have to deal with problems like Sciatica on a regular basis and my heart goes out to them because it was incredibly unpleasant.

It was my sisters Birthday this week and it meant a lot to me to ensure she had a great day. I decided to make her a cake. A cranberry and chocolate Battenberg. It turned out ok, and I’m really good at assembling these cakes now. She loved the drawing I put on her card too (the above image.) Before I injured my back I also had a fun time putting up the Christmas decorations while my parents kept my Sherry glass full – come to think of it maybe this is how I injured my back in the first place. The house looks nice and festive at least. Also went to see a mystery film at the cinema that turned out to be In The Heart Of The Sea. They were giving out free sweets too.

Star Wars is out, but it happens to clash with other plans so haven’t been able to see it right away. We got it booked for next Monday though. Before that I’m also going to a concert. Lots of things to look forward to.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When Iā€™m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

10 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 18 December”

  1. Aura Eadon says :

    So sorry to hear about your back, all back pain is nasty regardless. I’m going to be seeing Star Wars after the first week when the initial rush dies down a little. I hope your back returns to full health soon. Have a lovely weekend and a beautiful and pain-free week ahead.

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks, it’s gradually recovering. I guess because your back is connected to everything else, even a little bit of pain there can disrupt your ability to get around. I’ve been hearing great things about the new Star Wars film, so I’m sure it’ll live up to expectations. I don’t think I have the patience to wait a week to see it though, lol. Have a nice weekend!

  2. Claudia H. Blanton says :

    hope you feel better soon

  3. lexacain says :

    My husband’s sciatica flares up in the winter too. I think the cold stiffens the muscles and stresses the vertebrae & nerves. I hope you feel better (though watching Christmas movies sounds fun!) The cake sounds delicious. Have a lovely weekend. šŸ™‚

  4. M.R.R. says :

    Hope you feel better soon, and it’s good that you got to do some fun stuff before the back injury would have ruined it. Have a merry Christmas.

  5. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    Sorry to hear about your sciatica. I’ve had back pain and it is not fun. Get lots of rest, and I hope it completely goes away soon. It sounds like you had a good week other than that. Happy Birthday to your sister! Love the drawing, and that cake sounds really good. I haven’t seen the new Star Wars yet. Hopefully this week. Have a wonderful Christmas holiday!

    • wallcat says :

      Thank. Hope you’re enjoying the holidays. I’m still recovering and resting up, plus I now have a cold. Oh well, it’s nice to be able to chill out at this time of the year anyway. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

