Celebrate The Small Things: 22 January

It’s not been a great start to the New Year. Not only have we lost some amazing talents, but someone dear to us is very unwell. It’s hard to find the positivity at such times, but I guess I’d like to celebrate the warmth and kindness that we see when everybody comes together to offer support. Things are gradually improving and I’m a lot more optimistic than I was at the start of the week. I also greatly appreciate that I still have people in my life that I love very much.

I got to go to a gig yesterday. It was Rumours of Fleetwood Mac, a tribute band. My sister is the main Fleetwood Mac fan, but I gotta admit, the music is great and I had a good time out. I think I also had the second longest sleeves there – something that I noticed about the clothes Stevie Nicks wears. They also gave mention of the recent losses and that we can be grateful that we still have lots of excellent music to enjoy. I’ve been listening to a lot of David Bowie over the past week actually. I never had listened to it much before (I know him from watching Labyrinth a lot during my childhood), but it’s really cool.

We’re still making each other laugh and finding things to be positive about.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

11 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 22 January”

  1. Cathrina Constantine says :

    It’s been a rough year with losing some of the greats, I agree. I was lucky enough to see Bowie in concert many moons ago. And I love the Eagles.

    It’s alway very hard when someone close to you is ill. Take care and be strong!

    • wallcat says :

      I regret not getting into David Bowie earlier now. I know somebody who had the chance to go to a concert and didn’t, now they really regret it. I bet he was amazing. It was a strange week where almost everything bad that could happen did, but hopefully that means the rest of the year will pick up from this. Thank you.

  2. lexacain says :

    I’m so sorry to hear that you have a sick friend. I hope they recover soon. At least you got to listen to some great music. I love Fleetwood Mac! Have a great weekend!

  3. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    Sorry to hear about your dear one who is unwell. That can easily take the joy out of everything. I hope he/she is able to recover fully. It was sad to hear about the great talents lost — David Bowie, Alan Rickman, and Glen Frey. I was never a huge Bowie fan, but I love the Labyrinth movie. Alan Rickman was an amazing actor, and I enjoyed the Eagles music with Glen Frey. I like Fleetwood Mac, too. It’s nice you got to go to the concert. Have a good weekend!

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. It’s been a difficult and unexpected hurdle thrown at us in this new year. They’re doing ok, but I think the recovery is going to take a long time, so we need to stay positive. Alan Rickman was one of my favourite actors so I was a little upset to hear about that. Labyrinth is an amazing movie. It’s one of those stories that appeals to kids, but even as an adult you can still find interesting things about it. Not listened to a lot of Eagles, but there’s the odd song that I really like. Have a nice week.

  4. pempispalace says :

    You are so right when you say that others who offer support at the hard times are so important – a friend in need is a friend indeed. Hopefully, things will turn around for your ill friend and you staying positive and going out and enjoying what life has to offer is also very important. Have a good weekend 🙂

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. People were feeling guilty during the few times they could laugh, but it’s no use to anybody moping around all the time. I think you need to ffind the positives because otherwise life will wear us down. Luckily the people around me are fairly strong. Have a nice week.

  5. M.R.R. says :

    Hope your friend does better soon.

Leave a Reply

