Celebrate The Small Things: 5 February

One of my friends mentioned that he was helping to test websites for a bit of extra cash on the side. It got me thinking that perhaps it’s something that I can look into, as seen as I have an interest in website design anyway. It turns out that most website testing is done by recording your screen and talking while you follow so many tasks. This allows them to see exactly how a user thinks and they can spot flaws if they struggle to complete any of the tasks. I’ve only signed up to a couple of websites for now, What Users Do and User Testing. You have to do a practice test before being accepted, and as I was nervous for these first attempts I thought I’d done a really bad job of this. They also said that it could take a few days, weeks or even months to hear back. Well the next day both websites had accepted me and I got to do a couple of real tests too. It’s actually really fun to do and I’m hoping it’ll help to build my confidence. It’s fulfilling feeling like you might be helping to improve these websites too.

I had some spare time this week so I made sure to catch up with a friend. We got a Don’t Starve Together game going, although we haven’t done very well at this so far. He’s been really into writing lately (apparently I inspired him after taking a creative writing course) and had an idea to start one of those stories where you take it in turns to write. It sounds like it’ll be a lot of fun and it’s a joy to see him so creatively excited. I bought some new game inspired music too, and got more than I was expecting for what I paid – http://alexroe.bandcamp.com/ it’s very good.

With everything that’s been going on, such as hospital visits and work I haven’t been able to spend any quality time with my boyfriend recently. Thankfully he’s booked most of this month off, starting from now, and so it should be a nice break for us both as well as making it easier to deal with the way things are right now. I’m so glad it’s the end of the week so we can relax for a bit tonight.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

8 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 5 February”

  1. lexacain says :

    I’ve never heard of website testers. So interesting that I now know an official website tester! Congrats! It’s really cool that you helped inspire your friend to start writing. I hope he puts a dedication to you in his first book. Have a great weekend and enjoy spending more time with your BF in Feb. It IS the month of romance, after all! 🙂

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. It was easier to get started than I expected, but a fun way to earn a little extra income. It’s really humbling when somebody tells you that you inspired them in some way. I’m glad that its helped him to discover something he enjoys and in turn he might also encourage me to spend a little more time writing. I love being able to share my creativity with a friend. Hope your enjoying your month, I’m definitely fitting in lots of quality time with the BF. 🙂

  2. pempispalace says :

    I’m not surprised you got accepted so quickly – you must be a dream as a website tester because of all your computer experience – they are so lucky to have you! Have a great weekend with your partner 🙂 Special Teaching at Pempi’s Palace

  3. Tonja Drecker says :

    I’ve heard of website testers, but always thought it was one of those ‘untouchable’ jobs. Great that you got into it! It’s great to have a writer friend like that…may many words come this week!

    • wallcat says :

      I love being around creative people whatever it is they choose to do. It’s fun to bounce ideas backwards and forwards. I didn’t realize you could do website testing just like that until recently, and wish I’d known about it before. I guess they want to see how general users from home will react to it, as this is how a lot of sites are accessed.

  4. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    Congrats on getting in with the website testing! I’d think you’d be a natural at it with your gaming and programming background. That’s wonderful that your friend is so excited about writing. Best of luck to him! Enjoy your time with your boyfriend! And I hope the person who is ill is continuing to recover.

    • wallcat says :

      Thank you. I feel like out of all the options available for a little extra income, website testing will probably suit me the most. Just have to get the hang of saying my thoughts aloud while navigating them. I love being around people when they have that creative energy, and I can find that it rubs back off onto me too. I’m very much looking forward to seeing what he writes.

Leave a Reply

