Celebrate The Small Things: 4 March

canada28

So I haven’t had the chance to write anything here over the past couple of weeks. I’ve been recovering from jet lag this week, after flying back from Montreal. It was amazing being able to go back to Canada again, as it is one of my favourite places to visit. We also got to see three of our favourite bands while we were there: Nightwish, Sonata Arctica and Delain. Got to shake the hands with all the members of Nightwish and had a photo taken with them. When I first became a fan I never even thought I’d get a chance to see them perform, nevermind actually meeting them. While we were there I also visited my first planetarium, saw some wolves and ate the tastiest pizza ever.

Once we got back home we had another gig to go to. It was Sabaton and Alestorm; An unusual combination, but a fun night out all the same. I forgot how much I enjoy Alestorm, they’re really funny and can get the crowd going. Last week we also discovered that the card game shop has moved to a new location. Before it was quite a poky little shop in an area we didn’t feel safe walking through. Now it’s much closer with a whole upstairs area that anybody is free to use as a space to play card or role playing games in. Tried it out with some friends and I reckon we’ll be making regular visits from now on. It’s nice to have some space to go and meet people that won’t cost too much, like going to the pub for instance. We discovered a new card game called Boss Monster that is a lot of fun. Tonight we’re off to see Deadpool in 4D.

Oh and I finally finished all of the Game Of Thrones books and am now watching through the series. While I really enjoyed reading about all of the characters I found it to be a bit heavy going and have felt ready to move onto something new for quite some time.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

6 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 4 March”

  1. lexacain says :

    Wow, you have been busy – but it sounds like all fun stuff! I visited Canada twice, both in the winter, but I still love it. I’m glad your visit was so much fun and that you got to meet a band you never thought you would, Yay for a better space to play cards and RPGs in. Have a great weekend! 🙂

    • wallcat says :

      Yeah it has been, oddly enough I feel more exhausted than I did before. We needed the time to switch off after having so much bad news this year. It’s a time I’ll never forget.

  2. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    Glad you had a great trip! Hearing all those bands play and meeting the members had to be fun. And it sounds like you’ll be having fun with that new gaming space. Love the wolf photo! Enjoy your weekend!

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. Yeah it was an amazing experience that I’ll never forget. We’re thinking of making use of the gaming space on a weekly basis if we can. Have a nice week!

  3. M.R.R. says :

    The new card shop sounds like a fun place.

Leave a Reply

