Celebrate The Small Things: 11 March

Between back problems, hospital visits and breaks away I haven’t been able to get back to the gym as consistently as I would have liked so far this year. This week I’ve given myself the push to go three times, an hour each session, which is what I use to do. I’m also going to exert my willpower – we have cream slices in the house and I’m going to turn it down. The hardest thing I find about trying to live a healthier lifestyle is that people keep buying treats in or planning nights out, even after you’ve already explained that you’re trying to cut back. It’s my fault for not being very good at avoiding temptation and saying ‘no’, but after a week of keeping to the gym I’m going to stay strong this time… I hope.

This week I focussed on designing a WordPress theme. I’ve only been working on the HTML and CSS so far, but I’m really happy with it. I can be a bit rusty at first if I haven’t done any web programming in a while, and this isn’t helped by the fact that I can be quite ambitious with my ideas. I also got accepted another another user-testing website and completed a couple more tests. I’m getting better at it. I’m far more relaxed now. I’m also on a website called Slice The Pie, a website where you can give feedback on new songs and fashion. It’s a lot of fun and my rating has suddenly jumped up to 4 stars.

My friends and I have been doing a lot more together recently, and I feel like it’s helping me to feel a bit closer to them. We went to see Deadpool together in 4D, started a game of Civilization V and went back for a couple more games at the card game shop. Everybody seems enthusiastic to do the card games as a weekly thing now, which I’m really happy about. We even have plans to do Dungeons and Dragons. I’ve been looking for something like this for a long time, but could either never find the people or the space. I was getting tired of always going to the pub and it costs too much to do it all the time.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

6 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 11 March”

  1. Katie thecyborgmom says :

    How wonderful that you’ve been able to spend more time with friends. I actually saw one of my friends last weekend that I haven’t seen in a while. She stopped by and we chatted for a couple of hours…probably could have kept on talking, but life gets in the way and calls us to other responsibilities. Enjoy your weekend!

    • wallcat says :

      It can be hard to make enough time for our friends, so I like to celebrate the moments where we enjoyed each others company. It’s so hard to make good friends that I really appreciate having people that want to spend quality time with me, especially when they are so busy. Have a nice week!

  2. lexacain says :

    Wow, you sound so busy with such a lot of interesting things! Yay for more designing, the 4-stars, and having fun with friends! I think you’re so strong for getting out to the gym this week – go you!! 🙂

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. I get weeks where I don’t sit still very easily and like to get lots done. Then I have others where I’m recovering from those weeks lol.

  3. Cathrina Constantine says :

    So sorry to hear about your back problems, they are the worst!!!

    So nice to hear your spending time with friends, that always lifts my spirits. I’d like to see Deadpool.

    • wallcat says :

      Deadpool is a bit gruesome, but very funny; I reccomend it. I’m doing a lot better now with my back, just takes a long time to recover. I’m very excited about getting to spend so much time with them and have even more planned this week.

Leave a Reply

