Celebrate The Small Things: 18 March

My main goal for this week was to improve my typing skills. I could already type quickly using my own style, which is what makes the transition over so difficult. I’d tried as a kid, but had never had the patience or the encouragement to stick it out. Well after a week I’m already getting quite good at it and I am touch typing this post right now. Hopefully I can only get better and faster at this and it’s another skill added to my belt.

I got a new phone. My last one was so bad it was lagging up and crashing just trying to send txts. It was causing me a lot of stress, so I finally decided to treat myself to a good one. I love this new phone and I already feel like it’s been worth it. I’m able to do user testing on it too, so I can earn extra income with it. I got to do three tests this week, that’s about $30. It’s not consistent, but I seem to be making at least $20 each week so far, which I’m happy with considering that it isn’t particularly time consuming or difficult to do. I’m still getting good ratings for my tests as well.

I’m going to need the extra money for my new hobbie. We’re now getting into Dungeons and Dragons. We had our first session this week and it was a lot of fun. It’s incredibly social and creative. Our next session is tomorrow and I can’t wait. It feels like quality social time because everybody is keen to engage with it fully and enjoying themselves. I also get to be the Dungeon Master so I have a lot of control over the adventures we have. I do have a lot of rules to learn though. We also went out for pizza and played a few other games because it was my friend’s birthday.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When Iā€™m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

4 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 18 March”

  1. Shah Wharton says :

    I did touch typing at school, on typewriters, and was awful at it. I passed my exams by the skin of my teeth! So good for you! And I am intrigued how you might be earning money ‘testing’ too. I’ve never played D&D, though I’m not a gamer at all. The idea of D&D is my kind of thing though. Enjoy!

    shahwharton.com

    • wallcat says :

      Table top role playing feels very different to the usual sorts of games I play. It’s very social, which is what I love about it. I still need to increase my typing speed, but I have surprised myself with how quickly I’ve learnt to touch type. I didn’t think I’d ever get the hang of it, but it seems to be moving to muscle memory now. There are lots of opportunities to earn a little extra online, but it takes time to do the research to seperate the ligit ways from the scams. Developers need testers for apps and websites, and there are places that manage that. The best I’ve found are User Testing and What Users Do.

  2. lexacain says :

    Congrats on the new phone and getting paid more because you have it! $20 a week sounds good to me! I was a big D&D-er in high school and college. Loved it! It’s great for having fun with friends (and eating a lot of junk food!). Have a lovely weekend. šŸ™‚

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. It is a lot of fun. I love having to chance to be creative aroung others and it creates the right sort of atmosphere for that. We can’t get enough of D&D atm. Enjoy your weekend.

Leave a Reply

