Celebrate The Small Things: 25 March

My partner’s boss’ parents are bee keepers and he’s been selling off spare pots of honey. I seem to have it stockpiled now so it’ll last me a good while. I love honey and it’s even better when its not been bought from a super market. If you get it locally it can also help you to build up resistance to hay fever.

Fit in a couple of sessions of Dungeons & Dragons this week and have another one planned for tomorrow. We can’t seem to find enough time to play as much as we’d like to at the moment, but it’s good that everybody is so enthusiastic. It’s also keeping me busy trying to learn how to play and preparing for Dungeon Master duties. Although my friend wants to try and DM the next one, which I’m happy about as I just created a new character that I’m really excited to play. For some reason I have the heart of the dice and get incredible rolls, while all of my friends seem to be incredibly unlucky. It isn’t ideal as a DM as I keep critically hitting their characters, but I rolled to get my character’s stats and they’re amazing (I got three six’s on one roll.) Although, as a DM it feels amazing to see everybody enjoying themselves on a story that you’re helping to create.

Yay, Easter’s here and that means lots of chocolate and some time off.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

 

 

Tags: , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

14 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 25 March”

  1. lexacain says :

    I worry a lot about bees. It seems the poor things are dying off right and left. I’m glad your parents-in-law are helping the population grow. How awesome that you’re enjoying D&D so much. I loved it when I was younger. If you get a great group together, the way they play their characters–the rapport, the witty repartee–can be so much fun! Have a lovely weekend! πŸ™‚

    • wallcat says :

      I’m really enjoying the social role play aspect and how the characters work together. The group and DM make a massive difference towards how well a session goes; Luckily I have some good friends to do this with. I worry about the bees too. Nature in general as well. I’m planting flowers in my garden that will hopefully appeal to the butterflies and bees. Also feels like a sign that Spring and better weather is on its way. Have a nice week!

  2. lexacain says :

    Sorry — that’s your BF’s boss’s parents! I mis-wrote. πŸ˜›

  3. Tonja Drecker says :

    I’m jealous of that honey. My husband started a hive last summer, but his bees aren’t producing as well as they could. So no honey for us yet 😦 Enjoy your Dungeons and Dragons!

  4. Lori Carlson says :

    Oh.. I love local honey! Congrats on the DM and the new character. Happy Easter to you and your family!

    Lori’s CtST @ As the Fates Would Have It

  5. pempispalace says :

    I’d love a bee hive and to be able to get our own honey – really interesting to learn about the hayfever aspect – I’ll be passing that on to some of my friends who suffer. I always thought I’d have loved D&D but just never got in with that sort of crowd unfortunately – so have fun and make the most of your lucky streak πŸ™‚ Special Teaching at Pempi’s Palace

    • wallcat says :

      We drink Mead too, which is apparantly good for sore throats. Sure is good stuff Honey. Games like D&D and heavily dependant on the people you play it with. If a group doesn’t enjoy it for the same reasons you do then you might not get along with it so well.

Leave a Reply

