Celebrate The Small Things: 1 April

I think there’s been some bugs going around as a few of us have been feeling unwell this week. I’m also feeling particularly stressed at the moment. There’s no real reason for it, but I get weeks where everything gets on top of me. It’s been a tough year and a few of us have been so focussed on taking care of others that we’ve neglected to make sure we’re well in ourselves. It feels like our lives revolve around hospital visits lately and I worry for some of my loved ones.

When I think about what to write for this each week it helps me to focus on the positives no matter how small they are. We all go through bad patches from time to time, but we still keep moving forward regardless. My friend told me that it was admirable that despite my anxiety I never seem to give up on anything completely. I’ve noticed now that when I’m feeling down I’m much kinder to myself. I remind myself that it’s ok to feel this way and it’ll pass eventually. Things can only improve when you’re at your lowest. This year hasn’t been going as planned, but there are still lots of things ahead to look forward to, such as breaks away and spending quality time with friends. I also had a lovely Easter and have successfully topped up my chocolate supplies. It’s been one of those weeks of chocolate and Disney films, because sometimes it’s just exactly what you need.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

4 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 1 April”

  1. lexacain says :

    I’m nodding and commiserating about the virus-y unwell thing going around and how this year is not going to plan. You’re absolutely right in allowing yourself to slow down, and giving yourself comfort wherever you can find it. If we don’t take good care of ourselves, who will? I hope your weekend is very good and filled with relaxation and chocolate! 🙂

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. I think a lot of us feel guilty if we can’t be on the go all the time, but I have to slow down sometimes or I’ll not be well enough to get through things anyway. I do feel a lot better for the start of this week since allowing myself to have some time to relax. Chocolate is always good 🙂

  2. Shah Wharton says :

    Stress has played a big part in 2016 for me so far and it’s played havoc with my work and mental health. I get what you’re saying, big time. Here’s hoping the year lightens up a little more every month and we catch a break. 🙂 X

    • wallcat says :

      Sorry to hear that and hope things improve for both of us. I have struggles with mental health at the best of times, but stress adds even further difficulty when it comes to taking care of ourselves. Just got to keep hanging in there and make the most of the moments when we can get away from it all.

Leave a Reply

