Celebrate The Small Things: 15 April

I’ve gotten really busy all of a sudden. I’m helping a friend with his dissertation by putting together a few diagrams and maps. It’s satisfying to do, especially knowing that my work could end up part of a book eventually. He’s been telling me that my work is outstanding too. Always helps your confidence a little to feel like your efforts are appreciated. On one of the tasks he seemed unsure that I’d be able to do it, but I like a challenge.

The main thing for me this week is the arrival of Dark Souls III. I’ve been waiting for this game for quite some time and it’s amazing. When I pre-ordered they told me that they couldn’t promise that it was going to be a collectors edition, but they had just one in stock and went to great lengths to ensure I got it. We’re also keeping up with the Dungeons & Dragons. I’ve been taking on the feedback from all of my players and I think I’m improving at being the Dungeon Master. It’s challenging when they want to explore something that’s not in my adventure book, but it’s fun trying to improvise. My players also looked sad when one of my NPCs died and were cringing with some of my enemy descriptions. Actually, I’m not sure if that does make me a good dungeon master, but at least I’m bringing the story to life for them.

Planted some wild flowers in the hopes of attracting some butterflies to the garden. Had some pleasantly warm days this week.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When Iā€™m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

8 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 15 April”

  1. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    Sounds like you’re doing great work for your friend. And how cool to have your work end up as part of a book.
    I used to play D & D a little bit when I was younger. My brothers were both into it. I never tried being a Dungeon Master. I think it would be really hard. It sounds like you’re doing a good job with that, too. Enjoy your new game, and I hope you get lots of butterflies!

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. Yeah it is challenging, especially because I’m also jumping in new to the game before I’ve even had the chance to do it much as a player. I’m finding it fun to come up with new ideas to improve the game though, and so satisfying when you see your friends having a good time. Have a nice week.

  2. laralacombe says :

    Hope you enjoy your new game! šŸ™‚

  3. lexacain says :

    What a great list of thing! Yay for helping a friend and being appreciated, for the new game, and for improving as a DM. Acting out the NPCs so your players react is so rewarding. Have a lovely weekend!

Leave a Reply

