What is Zentangle?

In my last post I wrote about how adult colouring books were a good way to unwind and encourage creativity. In seeking out new books I also came across one about Zentangles. This is another interesting way to relax creatively without requiring any skills to have a go. A Zentangle is a pattern created on a square tile. A string is drawn through a space to break it up into sections. Different patterns (tangles) are drawn in each space. The final image looks incredibly intricate, but it really just involves a series of simple and easy steps. There are already a lot of examples of tangles out there that can be used to take inspiration from.

Zentangles usually come in a certain size, and on a larger scale it’s known as Zia, which stands for Zentangle inspired art. I haven’t had much practice with Zentangles yet, but I enjoyed creating this cat image and I am proud of the final result.

ZIA_Cat_small

The idea behind Zentangle is to focus on each stroke, rather than the overall goal. Something might look complicated, but when broken down into small steps it really isn’t. There’s a lesson that can be learnt from that when overcoming obstacles in our own lives. If we focus on following the process instead of the overall goal then we’ll eventually get to where we want to be anyway (as explained on James Clear’s blog, ‘Forget About Setting Goals.’) Learn more about Zentangles at https://www.zentangle.com/.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

4 responses to “What is Zentangle?”

  1. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    Wow, love the cat! That’s really nice. I used to do a lot of that type of coloring and drawing when I was younger, but sadly I got away from it. I bought one of the adult coloring books because I’d like to get back into it, but I haven’t gotten to it yet. It’s one of those cases where I need to make time to relax and do it. I’m finding that’s easier said than done.

    • wallcat says :

      Thanks. I agree. I keep trying to find the time to do more relaxing activities, but even when I manage it I find it difficult because I feel guilty that I’m not working. Work and education has caused me to forget a lot of how to be from my childhood.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Joy of Adult Colouring Books | My Inner Geek - May 12, 2016

Leave a Reply

