Celebrate The Small Things: 1 July

The lack of space and clutter has been getting on my nerves, but I’d been putting off sorting it out. With the possibility of getting a new house on the horizon it finally gave me a push to have a clear out. I’m one of those people that develops emotional attachments to things and I find it difficult to get rid, or I worry that I might need it later. I found it much easier to be strict on myself this time however, as I realised that I wouldn’t want this stuff in my new house. It’s been a week long job, but it’s a load of stress off my mind and it feels like taking a weight off. By throwing out the old I’m now free to start exploring new things. Took a bit of a trip down memory lane too. Tonnes of old sketch books and game ideas, I didn’t realize I’d worked on so many things.

We’ve arranged a few house viewings and I’m already getting excited about the future.

f5f01-vik-smallthings2

Celebrate the Small Things is a weekly celebration created by VikLit and now hosted by Lexa Cain to celebrate the happenings of the week, however small or large. You can learn all about it and sign up for it here.

Tags: , , , ,

About wallcat

I have a strong passion for computing. In particular programming for which I am able to use a variety of languages including C++, Visual C#, Blitz Basic, Actionscript 2.0, Python and Lua. I also enjoy web-design and have some knowledge of HTML/CSS, PHP/SQL and Javascript. As well as programming I have a strong background in art and enjoy drawing in my spare time. When I’m not sat at my computer I like to keep fit by going to the gym or using my exercise ball.

14 responses to “Celebrate The Small Things: 1 July”

  1. Tamara Narayan says :

    I’m not moving, but I desperately need to clean out the clutter around my place too. I got rid of a trunk full of kids’ clothes the other day, so that’s a start! The hardest part for me is not getting rid of my things, but getting my family to let go of stuff. Pack rats, every one.

    • wallcat says :

      Hehe, I can imagine. I worry that my partner will bring a load of clutter with him if I’m not strict on him. I ask myself, if I’ve not looked for something for a few years, then chances are I don’t need it.

  2. laralacombe says :

    Congrats on making progress with your de-cluttering! We’re in the same boat–we’re moving in a couple of months, and we need to seriously downsize the amount of stuff going with us!

  3. lexacain says :

    Yeah, things are a lot different when you realize you’re going to have to pack and transport all that unnecessary stuff. That’s great incentive to get rid of it. Go for it! 🙂

    • wallcat says :

      I can’t believe I’ve been living with some of this clutter for so long, just to realize I can throw it out. Felt oddly empowering.

  4. My Miracle Life says :

    Congrats on getting rid of the old. I know the feeling. I’ve gotten rid of a lot, but still have some more to go. Good luck with getting your new house! Enjoy the weekend. Eva

    • wallcat says :

      It can be a lot of work if you let it build up. Now that I’m on top of it I’d like things to stay this way, although I know I probably won’t be sticking to that, lol. Thanks, enjoy your week!

  5. pempispalace says :

    I so know where you’re coming from when it comes to emotional ties to things – they may not have any monetary value but the memories attached make it so difficult to part with so well done you on getting rid of what you can. Hope all goes well on the upcoming move 🙂
    Special Teaching at Pempi’s Palace

    • wallcat says :

      I’m really bad for developing strong attachments to things so it can be quite an emotional journey to go through. We change a lot as people though, and I want to make new memories in our house. Thanks.

  6. Cathrina Constantine says :

    I’m the same way! But moving is the perfect time to de-clutter your house and life!!!! Have a good one.

  7. Lori L MacLaughlin says :

    I have the same problem about being attached to things and not being able to decide whether or not to get rid of them. My house and my basement in particular are full of stuff I don’t use but haven’t been able to make myself get rid of. It needs a thorough cleaning out. Having all that clutter around is stressful. I’m hoping to tackle it this summer. Good luck with the house hunting!!

    • wallcat says :

      I was getting very stressed with mine. I think we can actually be happier with less, and we appreciate what we do have more. Still, it accumulates over the years and can be a lot of work to sort out. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

